Cream of Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Awesome recipe. I sauteed onion, garlic and fresh mushrooms in butter and added seasining salt and hungarian paprika. I mixed this with the flour and added it to the sauteed asparagus. I also used lemon herb chicken broth and added 6 cups of chicken bouillion and an extra .5 cup of milk (in place of half and half). This fed the whole family and they loved it. Also sauteed the asparagus for double the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
A bit bland but can easily add some flavour be it cayenne or a savory spice. Really need to cook the asparagus as my batch was a touch undercooked and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
made this and used veg broth and evaporated milk. i added a bit of turmeric and cayenne at the end to spice it up. my husband really liked it, and finished his bowl. he's not normally a big soup fan. next time i think i will saute some onion and puree part of the asparagus. i will use a little less flour as well...it was a little on the thick side. great basic recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candylamb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe! I mashed up the asparagus a bit to really get the flavor in there, and added some crumbles of Garlic and Herb Feta cheese before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
VERY simple. Great BASE recipe; needs a lot of tinkering with spices, though, or else it almost tastes like high quality Cambell's. And go light on the salt if you use salted butter/margarine and broth. I'd say what I ENDED UP with was a 3.5-4 star soup: I sauteed 1/2 a yellow onion and 2 gloves garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I also added some nutmeg and cayenne. I highly recommend throwing the cooked asparagus and 1 cup chicken broth in a blender for about 2 seconds to JUST break it up, yet leave it slightly chunky. I poured it over a multigrain pilaf with a bit of chicken for dinner. I can't wait to see how it survives freezing. Oh, and it only made 3-4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
You just can't beat simplicity. This base recipe is easy, quick to prepare, and other than the fresh asparagus uses standard pantry staples. I love the fact that it can be jazzed up to suit any palate. (I added white wine and some cheddar cheese.) Super recipe, thanks for posting it, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I like this recipie alot and I followed it fairly well though I added some minced garlic and 1/2 a cup of white wine and only added 3 cups of broth. I will be using this recipe for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adgen123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Excellent flavor - great recipe! The only change I made was to hit the asparagus with the hand blender because my husband doesn't like "chunky" soup. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Delicious and so easy to make. Made with vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to be vegetarian-friendly. Next time I may add some shredded carrot for eye appeal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I love this recipe! It is deliscious. I added 1/2 white onion and 1 teaspoon curry spice rub because my husband likes a little spice in his life :) I would recommend doubling or tripling the recipe because everyone wanted more plus I would like to freeze it for the winter months. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States