Cream of Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This soup was great!!! I didn't have any half-and-half so I used a cup of milk instead...it's probably thinner but still creamy. Also, while I was cooking the asparagus I chopped up onions with it and seasoned with garlic powder. Once in the bowl I topped it with a little shredded cheese....It came out so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Loved it but used vegetable broth instead and let the asparagus cook longer in the broth :) it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was really good. I try to stay pretty true to the recipes and only make minor adjustments. I added a clove of minced garlic, and I pulsed everything in the blender before serving. A delightful dinner on a dreary, windy spring night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Quick and very tasty soup. The cut up asparagus made it quite "chunky" for the amount of soup base for me -- next time, I may cook the asparagus longer and puree, or just mash, some of it and add it back to pot. I liked the soup very much -- it's fresh and speedy! Another thing...no way would I get 8 servings from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
An adequate, basic recipe to use more as a guide or reference tool. I didn't care for the margarine called for so I used butter. And, because I wanted a *creamier* Cream of Asparagus Soup, I used equal measurements of chicken broth and half and half. I don't know creamy this would be if prepared with so little half and half! I didn't feel all that flour was necessary so I reduced it by nearly half, but because I used a higher proportion of half and half than the recipe directs, I probably didn't need any at all. I sauteed some minced shallot and garlic before adding the asparagus, then seasoned it lightly with Herbes de Provence to give it another dimension of flavor. Finally, I pureed the soup, which is different than the recipe directs. The final result was a 5-star soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I'm lactose intolerant and can't really eat any dairy, but I did use some butter and lactose-free milk to replace the half n' half (I'm a little worried about eating the butter!)...but I think this would even be tasty without the milk (I've had asparagus soups without dairy before that were very good, so I'm going to continue experimenting). I also cut the asparagus into smaller pieces and pureed the soup because I was in the mood for it that way, but I did try it before blending and it was good that way too (I liked it better pureed though...also visually appealing with the uniform green color). Also, in addition to cutting off the brownish ends of the asparagus, I used a veggie peeler on the lower half (to take off the first layer and prevent stringiness). Overall, I really like that this is a simple recipe! Not too many fancy ingredients, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Excellent except you forgot the part about pruee in it. You can't leave the recipe like it is...PUREE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
this soup is the easiest and tastiest ever. i added a few splahes of hot sauce for a kick and only 1/4 cup of half & half. i had it on a freezing cold night with some croutons on top and it warmed me right up. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I halved this recipe and blended the soup for a smoother consistency. I did have to add extra seasoning as it was a little bland. The servings seem a little bit off - when I halved the recipe it only made 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Awesome recipe. I sauteed onion, garlic and fresh mushrooms in butter and added seasining salt and hungarian paprika. I mixed this with the flour and added it to the sauteed asparagus. I also used lemon herb chicken broth and added 6 cups of chicken bouillion and an extra .5 cup of milk (in place of half and half). This fed the whole family and they loved it. Also sauteed the asparagus for double the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States