Cream of Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is a delicious and easy soup. The only changes I made were to use veggie broth instead of chicken broth; I mashed up the asparagus a little bit after sauteeing it; and I added a dash of cayenne and a dash of white pepper. My husband and I both loved it and found it very filling. I'll definitely make it again, and would serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trekkiegoat
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very delicious and easy!! I blended the cooked asparagus a bit to make it chunky because I like it that way. I also added a bit of smoked paprika and dill seed powder and it made the flavor pop. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This soup is so good I made a 2nd. batch 3 days later. Please do not change anything or add anything. Try it and I think you will be glad that you left it as is. Irishtrout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was wonderful with the slight changes made by naples34102. I used the butter and fat free half and half with the chicken broth. I omitted the flour as well and pureed the soup. Creamy and delicious I also added a scant amount of cayenne pepper to the recipe and I will be making this every chance I get:-) Very filling and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made a vegan version, substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth and Tofutti Sour Supreme for the half-and-half. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that it was a little bland. I added some chopped onions, garlic powder, and some cayenne pepper as others had suggested. Yummy and SO quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I made it as is except for reserving the tips to add at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is a hit no matter when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I agree with everybody: This recipe is terrific, both easy and delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
So Good and Easy. I was pressed for time so I melted the butter, added the flour and stirred until creamy, added the chicken broth, and 3/4c milk instead of half and half, added the asparagus, put salt and pepper. turned the heat down to low and let it simmer for 20 minutes and Viola!!!! Mmmmmm Mmmmmmmm Good!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Good recipe however I added a few more ingredients for flavour. I also cooked 1/2 a chopped onion and a peeled and chopped potato with the asparagus. I pureed all those veggies however I saved the cooked asparagus tips to re-add texture to the soup. I also used 2 cups of milk as well as the chicken broth. The flour and butter roue was necessary to the richness of the soup. I also added 2 cloved of minced garlic to the cooking veggies and pureed it with the rest. The garlic gave it an extremely good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States