Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious! I took other's advice and used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Sauted the onion and celery with some garlic and mushrooms and boiled the asparagus and potato first. Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Fabulous! I did, however, make some adjustments. First, vegetarian broth makes this a delicious and healthy veg meal! I used 5 cups water and 4 veg boullion cubes. I also did not add any broth (had a naturally creamy texture and taste without it!) and also no additional S/P or soy sauce. I will definately be making this again the next time asparagus is on sale! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
amazing soup! just got from Mexico, they made the best asparagus soup, but I think this recipe tops it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This took a lot of work to make and I didn't like it at all. I followed the recipe exactly; I just didn't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
A big hit here. I used all chicken broth (no water) and 2 cubes of bouillion and a package of onion soup, since I didn't have the condensed chicken broth. I skipped the soy sauce and it was salty enough for my saltoholic husband. Probably a little too salty for the average person, but it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
So good! I added two garlic cloves, used olive oil in place of margarine and used 3 bouillon cubes, 1.5 cups of water, and 2 cups of chicken broth. No soy sauce was needed. I used whole milk in place of half and half and bumped up the ground peppers, along with a few dashes of hot sauce since we like our soup to have a little bite. This soup was delicious! I served this with homemade pumpernickel garlic croutons. I will definitely make this again. **Update: I made this again and it's better without the half and half and I don't puree it. I have made this several times and sometimes leave out the potato (don't always have it) and add some raw cubed chicken and let it simmer until done. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have been searching for a good asparagus soup recipe for a couple of years...this one wins!! I feel like the slight changes I made added a ton of extra flavor. The changes were: I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil for cooking onions and celery, used 4 bouillon cubes and a tad extra water, added 3 pressed cloves of garlic, and went with a couple dashes soy sauce, dash of red (cayenne) pepper, dash of seasoning salt, and about 1/4tsp adobo seasoning. So delicious! We have been eating it nonstop since I made it...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Loved this!!! I made it exactly as written, minus the soy sauce. And I will do it again and again and again. I am thinking this would be perfect with any vegetable combination: mushroom, carrot, tomato, celery, squash, etc. Both my husband and I finished the entire batch in one sitting -- it was THAT good! Highly recommend it. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Oh my goodness...this is the best soup ever!!! I get requests for this all the time! Takes some time and you need to have the ingredients measured and out and ready to go - makes it so much easier to make! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States