Cream of Asparagus and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I changed the chicken broth and mushroom parts up a bit. I used 3 x 14.5 ounces instead of a full 6 cups of broth. And when I added potato and asparagus bits to simmer I added dried king boletes and shaggy Maine mushrooms. I cut the last bit of raw store bought mushroom into small slices and used only a quarter of what this recipe called for. (The dried mushrooms made up for it) this recipe is freaking awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deej Vieuxtemps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Delicious! I used baby bella mushrooms for additional flavor. Used olive oil instead of bacon drippings to saute vegetables, plain soy milk instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
What a great soup and I love the fact that in the end you still have bits of Asparagus not pureed. It was also a nice touch having the bacon pieces on top. I did have to make one small sub but I don't think it changed it much. I only had 5 cups of chicken broth so I did use 1 cup of vegetable broth. The only reason I gave it a 4 was that I have had another Asparagus soup from this site that was better, but please try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is a delicious soup, one of my favourites. I substituted sweet potato for the potato, and this added sweetness. I also used more asparagus than the suggested amount, which thickened it a bit more. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Dittrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was amazing, by far the best soup I have ever made and I am a big soup maker! My husband even loved it and claims he doesn't like soup! Only thing was I added more mushrooms because I love them and added a little garlic salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Just made this Christmas Eve for Christmas lunch tomorrow and had to have a cup to taste test before serving my guests. Very good soup overall, and adding the bacon drippings adds a smoky flavor to the bottom of the flavor profile, and the contrasting texture of the asparagus tips, which I blanched in salted water, along with the sauteed mushrooms, which I drained, made the soup almost a one cup meal given the protein value of the mushrooms. The crumbled bacon on top made this extra decadent, and tomorrow I plan on making some homemade croutons from a stale baguette, which will give it even more crunch. The only thing I added was some fresh squeezed lemon juice, and some worcestershire sauce to give the soup and overall more complex flavor. The asparagus was a much more subtle taste, than a traditional asparagus soup, where you primarily taste just asparagus and onion or asparagus and leek. This soup has it all. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gooseman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Like most of us non-purists...I like to modify recipes to reflect personal preferences and on hand stuff. I'm also not cutting the stars down because I did. So, personally, I started by skipping the bacon...didn't want that texture in a creamy soup. Instead, I used previously reserved refrigerated bacon fat. Another recipe suggested a diced Jalapeno, which I added to the mushrooms, celery and onions plus a few cloves of Garlic and my homemade Seasoning Salt. I used the fresh Turkey Stock made from Thanksgiving detritus...though chicken would be better probably, Plus I don't peel the spuds. I used unsalted butter because like the Stock...it's what I had. The blending was a lot easier w/ a stick blender. Also less salty considering it's MY stock recipe, unsalted butter and my own Seasoning Salt. BTW...The soup is great w/ tremendous flavor. My guest loved it and I'm counting on it freezing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A but bland for my taste. I added some extra pepper to give it a bit of a kick and this helped somewhat. Not a bad recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Thanks for the awesome recipe - This one's going in my recipe box for sure! Made soup to use up abundant asparagus from garden. Going to freeze it for a cold winter day. Tasted so yummy, would like to say I can't wait for winter to eat it but, can't bring myself to say such silliness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States