Cream of Asparagus and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I changed the chicken broth and mushroom parts up a bit. I used 3 x 14.5 ounces instead of a full 6 cups of broth. And when I added potato and asparagus bits to simmer I added dried king boletes and shaggy Maine mushrooms. I cut the last bit of raw store bought mushroom into small slices and used only a quarter of what this recipe called for. (The dried mushrooms made up for it) this recipe is freaking awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deej Vieuxtemps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Delicious! I used baby bella mushrooms for additional flavor. Used olive oil instead of bacon drippings to saute vegetables, plain soy milk instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
What a great soup and I love the fact that in the end you still have bits of Asparagus not pureed. It was also a nice touch having the bacon pieces on top. I did have to make one small sub but I don't think it changed it much. I only had 5 cups of chicken broth so I did use 1 cup of vegetable broth. The only reason I gave it a 4 was that I have had another Asparagus soup from this site that was better, but please try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is a delicious soup, one of my favourites. I substituted sweet potato for the potato, and this added sweetness. I also used more asparagus than the suggested amount, which thickened it a bit more. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Dittrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was amazing, by far the best soup I have ever made and I am a big soup maker! My husband even loved it and claims he doesn't like soup! Only thing was I added more mushrooms because I love them and added a little garlic salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Just made this Christmas Eve for Christmas lunch tomorrow and had to have a cup to taste test before serving my guests. Very good soup overall, and adding the bacon drippings adds a smoky flavor to the bottom of the flavor profile, and the contrasting texture of the asparagus tips, which I blanched in salted water, along with the sauteed mushrooms, which I drained, made the soup almost a one cup meal given the protein value of the mushrooms. The crumbled bacon on top made this extra decadent, and tomorrow I plan on making some homemade croutons from a stale baguette, which will give it even more crunch. The only thing I added was some fresh squeezed lemon juice, and some worcestershire sauce to give the soup and overall more complex flavor. The asparagus was a much more subtle taste, than a traditional asparagus soup, where you primarily taste just asparagus and onion or asparagus and leek. This soup has it all. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gooseman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Like most of us non-purists...I like to modify recipes to reflect personal preferences and on hand stuff. I'm also not cutting the stars down because I did. So, personally, I started by skipping the bacon...didn't want that texture in a creamy soup. Instead, I used previously reserved refrigerated bacon fat. Another recipe suggested a diced Jalapeno, which I added to the mushrooms, celery and onions plus a few cloves of Garlic and my homemade Seasoning Salt. I used the fresh Turkey Stock made from Thanksgiving detritus...though chicken would be better probably, Plus I don't peel the spuds. I used unsalted butter because like the Stock...it's what I had. The blending was a lot easier w/ a stick blender. Also less salty considering it's MY stock recipe, unsalted butter and my own Seasoning Salt. BTW...The soup is great w/ tremendous flavor. My guest loved it and I'm counting on it freezing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A but bland for my taste. I added some extra pepper to give it a bit of a kick and this helped somewhat. Not a bad recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Thanks for the awesome recipe - This one's going in my recipe box for sure! Made soup to use up abundant asparagus from garden. Going to freeze it for a cold winter day. Tasted so yummy, would like to say I can't wait for winter to eat it but, can't bring myself to say such silliness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States