Cream Filled Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by daisy
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Kids loved them, sent a batch to school, son came home asking for more. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Great concept! I make a version of these 4 every gathering we attend & they are always gone first. Who wants a hostess cupcake when you can have a confection that tastes like it just came from a Confectionery in Paris? If you want a REALLY chocolaty cupcake, simply buy a dark chocolate fudge cake mix (yes, you can use a mix, the food police will not arrest you! simple & good) and make according 2 the package EXCEPT replace the water w/ strong coffee. Trust me, you won't taste coffee (which I hate & refuse 2 drink) but you will taste deep, dark chocolate- sigh-. ***** THEN, which sounds easier: cutting a hole in every cake and filling, then replacing the top, or simply filling the pastry bag and piping it in? Who wants 2 waste all that delicious cake?! Just pipe starting w/ the tip close 2 the middle, not the bottom. ***THEN, forget a shortening based filling. If you want over-the-top gourmet flavor that make people beg for more, make a vanilla bean Italian Meringue Butter Cream frosting. Google it, & don't use any recipe that calls for shortening- yuck. TRUE IMBC frosting has no shortening. Pipe those cakes half full of THAT, then make a chocolate ganache & while liquid & warm, fill a wilt*n squeeze bottle (used for making chocolates) & squeeze ganache all over the tops of the cupcakes. So easy to do! Oh and do yourself a really big favor- stop using regular vanilla and start using S*noma Syrup's Vanilla Bean Crush- it will take your desserts to new heights! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
changed the recipe didn't have some ingredients. Used coconut milk in a cake mix. For the filling used coconut oil instead of butter. Used chocolate ganche for top and dipped it twice for good coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I followed the suggestion of a previous review, and used an apple corer to remove a plug from the top of my cupcakes; not only did this work perfectly, instead of making frosting for the top, I had a little star of filling peep out the top to finish them. The kids ate the plugs! I've given this recipe 4 stars, simply because it isn't as chocolatey or rich in texture as I'd expected. It's very good, don't get me wrong, I would just increase the cocoa from 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup or more next time I make them. Normally I make a vegan chocolate cupcake recipe that uses avocado, and I find it has a more dense, chocolatey texture and flavour than these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this recipe the first time and I liked it... but it needed more of a chocolatey flavor. So, when I decided to make it a second time I used 3/4C of Dark Chocolate cocoa powder and also added about 1/4 - 1/2 C of melted semi sweet chocolate chips and it was a lot better! I would recommend this recipe with the alterations anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CEMME
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I skipped the cake recipe all together and used the recipe for black magic cake and then used the filling! I have to say that the two combined are amazing!!! I also made a dark chocolate ganache on top but to be honest, it didnt really need it.... amazing! I think if the recipe for were black magic cake and the filling, it would be a 6 star rating!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I can only rate the cream filling. I used 1/2 c butter instead of butter and shortening. Added 2 tsp vanilla. I only had heavy cream that I whipped by itself, then folded it into the creamed butter and conf. sugar until the cream had the consistency I liked I cut a plug out of top of each cupcake. (1" x 1/2 " roughly) filled a sealable plastic bag with the cream and cut a corner off of it crammed as much of the filling that would fit in each cupcake Trimmed the bottom of the plug and put it back in and then frosted the cupcake. People said this was better that a Hostess cupcake. The only thing missing was the white design on top. It was incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I thought it was really great! I didn't have a pastry bag, so I had to improvise, but that was only a minor obstacle. the only bad thing to say about this recipe is my dad didn't think it had enough chocolate in it, so I would recommend adding a tad bit more. Other than that it was a quick and easy recipe that I enjoyed baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
BF approved. I had leftover ganache so I dipped the tops in that instead of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Made this using anothers reviewers advice of substitutin 1/4 cocoa to make the filling Chocolate. I used in a Banana cupcake w/Peanut Butter frosting. These were to die for! Thanks for sharing - I'll being making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnd93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Watch how to make easy, moist cream filled cupcakes from scratch.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States