Cream Filled Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Michele_One_L
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I'm only rating the cream filling recipe as I used a boxed cake mix for the cupcakes. The filling was super easy to make and use. Alone it's quite sweet but once I filled the cupcakes and let them sit, it blended so nicely. For the chocolate topping I used the satiny chocolate glaze recipe from this site. What a great pairing! I've shared these cupcakes with 2 people already and both have said that these are far better than the original hostess chocolate cupcakes. Sounds like a keeper then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele_One_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The filling tasted like really bad frosting. Not doing this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I am actually only reviewing the cream filling. I made a boxed Devils Food cake, put the cream filling in through the top & frosted with Satiny Choc. Glaze from this site. Sooooo good. Taste just like Hostess cupcakes & easy to frost with the glaze. Just dip the tops!! Only change will be to use a larger tip when filling with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These just didn't work out for me. Maybe I was tired, maybe it was late, but I just didn't click with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Folger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
So yummy! My family loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Use the Satiny Chocolate glaze (on this website) on top....it's perfect for these!! Like chocolate genache (sp?) but way easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great recipe! ..and easy. I hate when people make all kinds of changes, but I HAD to make one. Any time I make filled cup cakes, I always fill right from the top and then frost over the hole. It's definitely more appealing visually, and that way there is no risk of filling coming out the bottom/sides of your cups. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I only used the filling and just used a boxed devils food mix. Filling was delicious. I doubled the recipe for 24 cupcakes and had a lot leftover. Probably one batch would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Kids loved these, but I felt that they needed a little more chocolate flavor, so I would up the cocoa next time. I filled these from the top (I couldn't get the tip through the paper liner) and then covered with satiny chocolate glaze. Then I finished them by piping more of the filling on the top. These went over great at the party that my kids took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kyoung
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
The cake part of this recipe is okay, but did not come out as dark as I would hope. Perhaps I would use a box or a different recipe next time. It looked more like a gingerbread color. Flavor was ok. The filling was great. I used an apple corer and plugged up the holes when I was done. You should test how much to fill with one cake, because I under filled on some. I used a hard glaze recipe I found on this site, and used the filling to make the swirls on top. I would do this again, but with different cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Watch how to make easy, moist cream filled cupcakes from scratch.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States