Cream Filled Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I ONLY used the cupcake batter part of this recipe. It taste just right for a homemade hostess cupcake. For the Cream Filling I used the recipe "the best frosting I've ever had" from another website. Then I used melted chocolate chips with some coconut oil to dip the tops in. Came out perfect and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsorenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I loved the batter!!!! I could have just ate spoonfuls!!!! Came out great and cute!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Topped them with a chocolate ganache. My family could NOT stop eating these cupcakes! Personally, I didn't care for the cake, but the filling was incredible. I may try something different for the batter next time. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Very good- I used 1/3 cup coffee in the water and evaporated milk for more richness. The cupcakes were moist and flavorful this way. Cutting out a cylinder in the center of each cake, filling, and replacing the top worked well. Topped with pink vanilla and chcocolate buttercream and Valentine's sprinkles for a pretty presentation ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These are stupendous! To the people who said the cake was just ok or that they use a box mix you are crazy, the cake is perfect and delicious and so much better than all the chemicals and garbage in a mix and it took very little effort to make them. This will be my go to recipe for chocolate cupcakes! They rose up nice and high and were perfectly moist and tender. I had a bad batch of filling (old shortening? Used up a small piece that may have been in the cupboard awhile) but the consistency was perfect and filling the cupcakes is simple if you poke through the tops with a pastry bag and tip. I used the same frosting recipe as other reviewers mentioned and even wrote it down on the printed recipe so I don't forget what goes so well on these. Terrific recipe and thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
OK, well after reading the other reviews, I decided to change up the recipe a bit and this is what I did: Add a heaping Tbsp of instant coffee to the milk (don't worry, you won't taste the coffee), and stir until dissolved before you add to the dry ingredients. Instead of a whole cup of water, only add 1/4 cup water and then add 3/4 to 1 cup of SOUR CREAM. You might have to add a splash or two more of the water to get a good batter consistency. This made a really moist, decadent cake. I baked them at 350 for 23 minutes becasue of the sour cream additional ingredient. I had to fill the cups pretty high as it is a bit dense and doesn't rise a whole lot. I made a German Buttercream for the filling - NO CRISCO! Then I dipped them in a chocolate ganache and used more buttercream to do a curly doodle on top. They ended up looking just like the Hostess cupcakes but taste WAY better. They also came away from the paper wrapper FLAWLESSLY. EVERYONE WAS RAVING!! My kids went nuts. I will be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The cupcakes were delicious, most like a brownie,was not sure when i made the batter it was very watery, but turned out delicious. The filling was watery as well had to add regular icing to the batter to make it thicker. Overall they were a great hit and would make them again with modifications to the filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
yes I did make the cupcakes for my church and now they want me to make them every sunday thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by estella

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
It was a delicious cupcake recipe. They did have a bread-like texture, but that was my fault for over mixing. They didn't rise much at all, so they were about 1 inch thick. So I put the filling on the top. The filling was like a doughnut glaze. I also loved the subtle chocolate taste. It was delicious! My whole family loved them! P.S. The first few that came out of the oven had a bread-like texture, but now they have a nice cupcake texture. These are GREAT!!! TIPS: I reduced the salt to 1/2 Teaspoon of Salt, because I thought it was way to much. I also used canola oil instead of vegetable, because canola oil has almost no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Watch how to make easy, moist cream filled cupcakes from scratch.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States