Cream Filled Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
OK, well after reading the other reviews, I decided to change up the recipe a bit and this is what I did: Add a heaping Tbsp of instant coffee to the milk (don't worry, you won't taste the coffee), and stir until dissolved before you add to the dry ingredients. Instead of a whole cup of water, only add 1/4 cup water and then add 3/4 to 1 cup of SOUR CREAM. You might have to add a splash or two more of the water to get a good batter consistency. This made a really moist, decadent cake. I baked them at 350 for 23 minutes becasue of the sour cream additional ingredient. I had to fill the cups pretty high as it is a bit dense and doesn't rise a whole lot. I made a German buttercream for the filling - no crisco! Then I dipped them in a chocolate ganache and used more buttercream to do a curly doodle on top. They ended up looking just like the Hostess cupcakes but taste WAY better. EVERYONE WAS RAVING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I love the recipe but can I use another stick of butter instead of shortening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The cupcakes were delicious, most like a brownie,was not sure when i made the batter it was very watery, but turned out delicious. The filling was watery as well had to add regular icing to the batter to make it thicker. Overall they were a great hit and would make them again with modifications to the filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
hi, can i use baking powder instead of baking soda??? thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
yes I did make the cupcakes for my church and now they want me to make them every sunday thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by estella

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
It was a delicious cupcake recipe. They did have a bread-like texture, but that was my fault for over mixing. They didn't rise much at all, so they were about 1 inch thick. So I put the filling on the top. The filling was like a doughnut glaze. I also loved the subtle chocolate taste. It was delicious! My whole family loved them! P.S. The first few that came out of the oven had a bread-like texture, but now they have a nice cupcake texture. These are GREAT!!! TIPS: I reduced the salt to 1/2 Teaspoon of Salt, because I thought it was way to much. I also used canola oil instead of vegetable, because canola oil has almost no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This makes an amazing cupcake filling! I did not try the chocolate cupcakes but I made the filling for my vanilla cupcakes this week. Fantastic! Held up well and as a few others have said, was even better after sitting for a day. I died my filling pink for a little girls' party and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe is nothing short of awesome. My family could not stop eating them. I can't begin to explain how yummy these are! I made it with zero changes what so ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asiamae
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made these for my sister's baby shower and they were a big hit! We were told we should open our own bakery lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asiamae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Watch how to make easy, moist cream filled cupcakes from scratch.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States