Cream Filled Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These are great! I've been baking for years, but never made cupcakes from scratch. This was great! I was out of milk, so I substituted buttermilk and I always add a pinch of cinnamon to all things chocolate to bring out the flavor. I didn't know when to fill the cupcakes with cream, so I let them cool for about 5 minutes then filled with the cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I wouldn't recommend this recipe as it is. Instead of using 2/3 cup of shortening, I would use 1/3 cup shortening and 1/3 cup butter. I would also increase the confectioners sugar to 1 cup and the white sugar to 1 cup. The frosting I made from the original recipe tasted very greasy and was not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
The batter scared me at first because it looked to be on the thin side. But it baked up very nicely. The cake itself does not have to great chocolate taste. I took another reviewers suggestion on increasing the sugars for the sweetness and adding more white sugar was a mistake. The filling was crunchy and stayed crunchy. Hopefully as they sit for 2 days in fridge that might reduce some. I would only increase the conf. sugar. I don't think I would frost the tops with this filling as stated. I went with a chocolate glaze. Did not oooh and ahhh over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Everybody loved these cupcakes. I added more frosting on the top because they looked a little boring. The only word that describes them is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakinglover123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have to be honest, I made these for my family one night, and they were ok. It was probably just my frosting tube, but it just didn't come out right. Everyone still loved them, and I'll try this recipe again with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These cupcakes are not sweet enough! We will definitely not be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat Stierle
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These are great cupcakes! They are moist and delicious!! (: when I added the water and baking soda it was quite runny so I added some coco powder and more flour until it got a little thicker. On the icing, I hate crisco, so I used butter and it tasted fine, also, I made a lot more then what it called for. These are defiantly keepers and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These were pretty good. I didn't fill them with the filling in the recipe. I created my own raspberry cream filling but the cupcake itself was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Watch how to make easy, moist cream filled cupcakes from scratch.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States