Cream Cheese Won Tons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Leave out the clams and replace with crab.Tastes great like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I did not enjoy this as much as I was looking forward to it. It was probably my can of crab that made the dish way too fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I make a recipe like this called Hawaiian Shrimp Wonton Puffs with a filling that ROCKS! It is 4 oz. of softened cream cheese, 6 oz. of minced shrimp, 1 clove of garlic (minced), 1/4 teaspoon pepper, 1/8 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce and 1/8 teaspoon tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katycooks1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Definitely a hit at my house! My husband loves crab rangoons from Chinese restaurants, he LOVED the won tons! I also used imitation crab meat instead of clams. Easy to make, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
A very good recipe. I had never worked with wontons before. You certainly do need to use one lightly beaten egg plus 2 tbsps water as a "seal" for the edges. I also used a fork to seal it in a pattern similar to ravioli. This is a good base recipe... once you try it, you'll add more and new ingredients to make your wontons unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! We are not clam eaters, so I used crab instead and it was a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These are very tasty, pretty much just like those I get at my favorite thai restaurant. The best part is, you can alter things according to your taste. It's hard to mess up cream cheese, and you can add/subtract according to your taste for the rest. We used the same seasonings and water chestnuts but substituted a bit of shredded canned crab, and they were delish. I think next time we'll try the baking method - these were SO good but of course not as healthy, and it stinks up the house for a while. Don't know why sesame oil tastes so good but smells so bad when cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These are quite good. I did use shredded chicken instead of clams, but otherwise my ingredients were the same. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and baked them in the oven for about 10 minutes at 350. I did make the filling a night ahead, so I don't know if that allowed the flavors to blend more or not, but these were enjoyed by all at our party the next day, even baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Not horrible, but not good. The water chestnuts gave it a really strange texture. These should be crunchy/chewy on the outside and creamy on the inside. The flavor was also not there. I tried to save the second half by adding cut up shrimp to the cream cheese mixture, and it made it better. All in all to make this taste good, omit the chestnut, add some garlic and chopped shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Easy to make just don't over cook. Used Canned Crab
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States