Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These tastes really good- especially with the cheese filling also found on this site. Don't worry if the dough mix seems kind of loose even after refrigeration, once pressed firmly onto the muffin tin cups, it should bake and hold up pretty well. I love that it's only 3 ingredients and there is no grease needed to coat the tins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These are soo easy! my kids love them filled with pudding and a slice of kiwi on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My first time making this, I accidentally grabbed neufchatel out of the fridge instead of the cream cheese--but it baked much the same with a similar flavor, and is apparently 1/3 less fat...so it might be a marginally healthier option. Either way--lovely, especially with raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suburbancinderella

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
My friend and I used this to bake lemon tarts. These were disappointing straight from the oven--too greasy of a texture--and my friend hated the addition of cream cheese. However, after keeping them in the refrigerator, the tarts improved considerably. I will look at other tart recipes and may modify this one for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Tried these for tart shells -too puffy and soft. Maybe they would be good for something else, but as for crust, I prefer my oil recipe using milk, oil, and sugar with flour or even sugar cookie dough - especially for strawberry tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Tried this recipe last night, made a full size quiche, this recipe tastes exactly like a certain national brand of frozen quiche (Nancy's) which is delicious! Will use this recipe from now on!! Absolutely terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jello Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These are so easy and yummy! I added 2 tbsp. of sugar because I wanted shell a little sweeter. I also baked 13-15 minutes, just until very lightly browned on edges. Then I removed from oven and let finish cooking and cooling in pan. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jello Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My new favorite crust recipe. Couldn't be easier or more yummy. I made it non-dairy for kosher reasons, by using margarine and Tofutti cream cheese (both trans-fat free, by the way) and it was fabulous. I even replaced a bit (approx. 1/3 c.) of the flour with whole wheat flour to make it a tiny bit healthier (more whole grain), and it was still great. I can't recommend it more highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum!! Of course even such a simple recipe I screwed up, but it still turned out yummy! I usually cannot make pie dough but this turned out great and is so much simpler than traditional recipes. I wanted to make a larger batch and ended up screwing up my ratios. I ended up putting in 16 oz cream cheese, 1 1/4 cup butter, and 3 1/2 cups flour. Even messing up the ratios the dough turned out perfect! I realized I had put too much cream cheese so just added more flour and left the butter alone. Maybe it was better putting in less butter because I still got the yummy butter flavor and flaky dough without the greasiness that some reviewers mentioned. The recipe yielded 2 dozen regular cupcake size tarts and one 9" pie crust that I used to make a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States