Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I agree with some of the previous reviewers that said the dough was a bit greasy. I made mini tart shells for chocolate mousse cups, but I modified the recipe a bit by adding a teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 c confection sugar and upped the cream cheese to 4 oz as well as the flour to 1 1/2 cups. The results were quite good. I also dusted my counter top with confection sugar rather than rolling with flour, just a matter of preference when using sweetened dough. A great recipe, but not quite perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This tart crust is very tender, buttery, and delicious. I've used this recipe to make everything from mini quiches, mini apple pies, and shells for tuna salad. I've also used whole wheat flour for healthy mini quiches and those tasted great as well. Easy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Quick, easy tender and flakey! I doubled the recipe, sort of (8 oz cream cheese, 3/4 c marg and 2 1/2 cups flour) and it made enough to use filling for 1 blueberry pie. Also, I rolled and cut using a 2 1/4" cutter as I found those results more satisfactory (more filling, less dough and more "even" finished product!) I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I needed a quick pastry shell for some mini tarts and this did the trick! It took minutes to put together and the results were AMAZING! I made sure not to work the dough too much to ensure I maintained the flaky crust...it worked! I will use this EVERYTIME I make my mini tarts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe is absolutely fabulous.Period.I used it for a whole pie also (lemon meringue) and it went along soooooo well. My family always asks me to use this crust now! Terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mawaddah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I doubled the recipe to make full sized tarts. I sprinkled the tarts with raw sugar before baking. Baked, and then filled with the Banana Cream Pie recipe from this site. EXCELLENT taste. I found it easiest to squish the dough into a foot long roll and wrap in saran wrap and chill. Then it was easy to cut it into 12 slices and each of those slices in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Very good. I only used 3 tbsp of margarine for the dough since I read some past reviews saying it was a bit greasy, and was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are awesome and so versatile! I added a touch of cinnamon and kosher salt to the dough to enhance the flavors and then filled them with apples for mini apple pies. They were a hit at Christmas Eve! Then for Christmas morning I made them again (this time omitting the cinnamon) and made mini quiches! Everyone raved about the crust and how flaky and buttery they were. I will use this recipe over and over! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Easy, but I really didn't like the flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
O M G talk about good, and so easy if you can't put 3 ingredients together give it up. I doubled the recipe and I used the whole pkg of cream cheese I thought if 6 oz will be good than 8 will be even better. I made them into pumpkin tarts, next time I think I will add some sugar and spice to the shells and see how that taste.Yummmmmmmmmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States