Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Nice, forgiving pie dough. I found the full fat cream cheese created too greasy a tart so I used a lower fat cream cheese.(But never non-fat creese cheese which is awful,I think)They make wonderful mini quiches. Don't worry if the egg mixture overflows or your little tarts are not perfect, they come out looking charming!One suggestion, the non-stick mini tart pans are a dream to use. Invest in one of those. The egg mixture is 1 egg to every half cup of milk (or half and half). A generous grating of nutmeg, paired with swiss cheese,crumbled bacon and snipped chives,white pepper and salt to taste earned me rave reviews at the brunch. Oh, almost forgot! Bake the tart shells off for 5 mins at 400, add your filling and then turn down to 350 for 15 mins or so. No soggy bottoms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I rolled out the dough and cut it with a round cutter and fit it into gem pans. Baked at 400 degrees for 15 minutes and they came out perfect! I'll be filling half of them with lemon filling and whipped cream and the other half with chocolate mousse and raspberries. Thanks for the recipe for this yummy shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AREKAYELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very tasty! I did add about 1/4 tsp Kosher salt though because I was making these for my mini quiches. Only baked them for about 15 minutes before adding my filling as they were close to burning (I took a hand grater to the bottom of a couple that were burned and grated off the slightly burned parts. wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariePie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
These actually turned out really nicely- I added some salt and a bit of sugar for flavor... and added a bit of extra flour to change the butter/flour ratio per earlier reviews. Not overly flavorful, but a lovely base for other flavors. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toya84
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Easy and delicious! Made in a mini muffin pan, filled with vanilla pudding with whipped cream folded in. then added berries on top. Came out perfect. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toya84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Super easy to make! These were very good. I don't recommend using whole wheat flour though. It gave the tarts a bad aftertaste and were kind of dry. I remade them with all-purpose flour and it was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCattlemansWife
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
These are great and the baked shell keeps well in the icebox filled or unfilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Followed the recipie, but made a double batch. I ended up with 15 regular sized tarts. This was delicious I will be making them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherylchristina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hefziba
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My first time making tart shells. I was looking for a easy recipe and this is great! I did half of the recipe. Banana puddin filling and cover with banana foster sauce...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hefziba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Easy, very nice tasting tart shells. Hard to believe something this easy can taste and bake up so nice. A real keeper recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States