Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Oh my these were unbelievable. I needed to make mini quiches and I didn't want to risk using my own regular quiche crust recipe and have it not work out in the mini form so I found this - it worked out really well and was much more delicious. It tastes how I would imagine catered mini quiche crusts would taste. I used a regular muffin tin and it made a dozen for me. Sure it isn't very healthy but hey if you don't eat all of them then you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The recipe didn't work for me, they were very easy to make but quite greasy and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
great recipe, except according to the original recipe, i felt the crusts were too thin and fragile. instead of 24 i made about 18 tart shells, which after baking, i filled w/ a little bit of custard & topped it w/ fresh assorts berries and mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I used this recipe for a pumpkin pie crust and could not believe how easy and good it was....this is only my 2nd time making a pie crust...it has always intimidated me but have wanted to find a recipe with out hydroginated oils in it(shortening....so bad for you).I know butter and cream cheese are not really good for us but much better than taking in that hydrogenated stuff...This crust was unbelievably easy and flakey better than any other crust I have had. I did prebake the crust about 15-20 just till golden then added the filling and cooked another 45min and the crust did not burn like other pie crusts have for me in the past...I really can not say enough good things about this recipe....Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This is the only recipe I'll use now for tart shells. I've even used it for a full pie, and it turned out excellent. I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. It is incredibly simple and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I used this recipe for a pie crust. It delicious! I can't even begin to tell you how easy it was to make! Easy to roll out to, which I always loathed with other crust recipes! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Melt-in-your-mouth delicious. I couldn't believe how quick and easy these were to do. I wanted to make mini quiches so took a couple of other reviewers' advice and used this recipe with Shelly's Basic Quiche mixture - a wonderful combination, thoroughly recomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
These shells were amazing! Because the recipe looked so simple (with only three ingredients!), I didn't expect great results. Boy, was I surprised! They taste exactly like the egg tart shells from my favorite Chinese bakery. I used to custard from the Hong Kong Egg Tarts recipe to fill these shells. They came out flaky and delicious! My friends devoured these and still wanted more! I only had fat free cream cheese on hand, but it still turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Wonderful! I baked the tart shells for about 15 minutes..your oven will vary..and cooled. Once they were cooled, I filled each one with homeade chicken salad and served at a Bridal Luncheon. The bride now wants these added to her wedding reception. Thanks Glenda for such an easy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Okay, these really are amazing! This recipe seems almost too simple to work, but it does and the pastry comes out flaky and crispy (if a bit greasy). I used both mini-muffin tins and regular size and both were great. I found it took about 15-25 minutes to bake the unfilled shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States