Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was so excited to try this recipe. I have a sweet and savory pie biz....and I'm really dying to find a mini tart shell recipe that I can crack out in a hurry. Ummmm....I'm confused how this worked for anyone. Yes, three ingredients is easy...but the dough was sooooo sticky... too sticky, it was like molding cream cheese into a muffin cup. So after I squished the dough into the tins, I pricked them anyway just to be sure. Baked them for 15 minutes and POOF! I had little indented muffins. One, they shrunk WAY below the edge of the tins, they ended up with crispy, over browned edges and they were soft in the center. Sooo, the second batch, I reduced the temp 25 degrees built the dough up above the edges and essentially ended up with the same results. With that being said, they did have good flavor and they were relatively flaky. So I'm giving two stars because of flavor and texture but they don't make adequate tart shells. I suppose I could put a dollop of something on them (not in them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Super easy and tasty! I love anything with only three ingredients! This is a very handy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We couldn't find the ready-made tart shells in local grocery stores that you can take home and fill with whatever filling you like, for a very fancy little dessert... so I found this little recipe and thought I would give them a shot. THEY WERE PERFECT. I am going to make these ALOT in the future, as they can be filled with either sweet or savory fillings. Heck, I may even try using the recipe (doubled) to make a full-size fruit, pumpkin, or chocolate pie -- just as other reviewers have done with this recipe! It's that versatile and THAT EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is the best tart ever, Nothing to them. I fill mine with Pumpkin and then add Cream Cheese in dthe middle and bake. Great tasting mini pumpkin cheesecake tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Radtke Pirko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I halved this recipe to use in two ramekins. Super easy to make and a good result. I baked them without the filling for about 25 minutes, then added the filling and baked another ten minutes. The bottoms were still a bit squidgy so I probably should have baked them 30 minutes before adding the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Awesome recipe! After reading the reviews and noticing a lot of comments about the shells coming out greasy, I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. Also, I used gluten-free flour and my husband and I couldn't tell the difference. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Amazing! These are so buttery and flakey and super easy to make. Definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
ive tried this, and it was pretty good. The taste was nice and buttery, the cream cheese did do it's job, but it was too breakable. i like a good, solid crust, and this would break when I touch it, I couldn't fill it properly. I would recommend baking it for a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
These were delicious, I used them to make the Jello Patriotic Mini Tarts and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
So sweet and simple! These are perfect basic tart shells to make delicious tarts! Highly recommend! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States