Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This dough was great! I made mushroom tarts and pear-blue cheese tarts with it, and that worked so well I used it for my Thanksgiving pumpkin pie too. Easier than the butter-flour-ice water version and turns out more reliably light and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe and very easy. I used in mini tart pans for Mini Crawfish Quiche. Was a big hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
very happy to find a simple pie crust recipe used this for a pumpkin pie today and going by what one reviewer said i prebaked the shell for 20 mins before i added the filling unfortunately 20 mins was a bit too long and i burned the outer crust but upon eating the pie i was glad i prebaked it because it deff would have been soggy/raw so next time i will pre bake it for 10-15
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Really good but time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I took the advice of others and baked the shells before filling them. They came out perfectly. I would definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
So easy. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulianaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I added salt, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sissy's Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this in three tart sizes: the mini-cupcake pans, the "muffin top" pans and the regular cupcake pans. I baked them 15 minutes at 325, unfilled. Nice, flaky crust and you do not need to vent and weight as with regular pie crust. I suggest working the dough so it is rather thin and up the sides of the mini and muffin tins. For the muffin-top pan, I just spread it to fill the space. Each shape is good for a purpose. Minis filled with something like PASTRY CREAM from this site or a fruit filling. The larger ones would be better for salads for more savory fillings. Overall, though, this crust is outstanding and so very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I used these shells to make tomato tartletts and I didn't have any leftovers. Everyone raved silently because they all had full mouths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
these were great I doubled the batch and they turned out perfect.. used half the batch for tarts and were nice and crisp yet still soft/flaky.. the other half for a lemon meringue pie and it was spendid... I precooked the crust when making the 9 inch pie a little longer but it made for a nice texture! Great flavor! this will be my new stand by. I'm happy I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleynoel23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States