Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
These shells were amazing! Because the recipe looked so simple (with only three ingredients!), I didn't expect great results. Boy, was I surprised! They taste exactly like the egg tart shells from my favorite Chinese bakery. I used to custard from the Hong Kong Egg Tarts recipe to fill these shells. They came out flaky and delicious! My friends devoured these and still wanted more! I only had fat free cream cheese on hand, but it still turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Wonderful! I baked the tart shells for about 15 minutes..your oven will vary..and cooled. Once they were cooled, I filled each one with homeade chicken salad and served at a Bridal Luncheon. The bride now wants these added to her wedding reception. Thanks Glenda for such an easy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Okay, these really are amazing! This recipe seems almost too simple to work, but it does and the pastry comes out flaky and crispy (if a bit greasy). I used both mini-muffin tins and regular size and both were great. I found it took about 15-25 minutes to bake the unfilled shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was amazing, I will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIREDANCER201
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I made these in regular muffin pans since I don't have a mini-muffin pan. They turned out delicious! I filled them with blueberry pie filling with cut up strawberries. MMMM! So easy that my 5 and 2 year old sons helped me! The only question I have is: How long are you supposed to bake them??? I baked mine for almost 45 mins and I don't think they were completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Excellent! I used these to make miniature pumpkin pies. Very good flavor, but the flavor doesn't stand out so much that it interupts the flavor of the filling. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
So easy to make and delicious! I used this recipe to make "Basic Quiche by Shelly" as recommended by another user. The quiches turned out so good! Crust was flaky and perfect. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Also works well to use as a full size pie crust, just make sure to very lightly brown the crust before pouring in the filling of choice. The crust didn't quite get done when I used it for a full size pie instead of the mini-muffin size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was a great, easy recipe! I followed Hope's advice and used Shelly's Basic Quiche (with some spinach) and made mini quiches that turned out very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I used a rice flour blend rather than wheat flour to make this. It turned out wonderful! (I'd made this often in the past using wheat flour and hoped it would be just as good. Maybe it's better though. =) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
These made perfect shells for my mini quiches (used Basic Quiche by Shelley on this site). I doubled the recipe and they came out so professional looking. Can't believe how simple the recipe is! I'm going to make a lot of mini tarts this holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Goat Cheese Tart

A delicious, free-form tart with a bit of sweet and savory!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States