Cream Cheese Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I make this all the time for work functions. People LOVE it. It's an easy crowd-pleaser. I've done variations with apricot and strawberry and they're both lovely. Definitely use less butter on top - 3 Tbsp has been plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
i have made this many times. sometimes i would add other ingredients such as a caramel topping. i even put in Baileys or Kahlua. every time i get happy faces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
My mom made these nearly every holiday growing up, and I have continued the tradition. I usually cut down the butter on top to half, as stated in the recipe is a bit much for me. I like to put raspberry or blueberry jam over the cream cheese layer. I made them tonight with half brown and half white sugar and pressed in some Italian Amoretti cookies(tiny almond cookies meant for soaking up liquors and coffee) and topped that with fig jam before the final crescent layer. It smells divine and I can't wait to dive into it! How ever you make yours, they are good warm but even better the next day, cold. I plan on making these next with puff pastry sheets like another reviewer, I think it will be a refined version worthy of even the snootiest baker. I have not found a bad combination or lost the taste for these cream cheese bars as the recipe states over the years. Give this recipe a try if you are a beginner for some confidence and also if you make your own fruit preserves and like to showcase them in desserts. Make for any reason, any day because these are so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxOfSparkles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Everyone who eats these thinks you've been baking in kitchen all day! So good, never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Good, but too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was absolutely fabulous...and I hate when folks make changes (saying "I followed the recipe exactly, except...") but I did use half the butter. It pooled up in the top when I used it all when I made it the first time. And (I know, I know), I also substituted a vanilla bean for the vanilla extract. Other than that, I followed the recipe "exactly." :) Great recipe! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
yummmmmmmmm! need i say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I put a thin layer of jam on top of the cream cheese, then continued. I took it to a bible study pot luck at church. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Herlihy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky in Texas
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
this was OK but there's too much sugar in the filling and it doesn't need all the butter poured on top. I served it with sliced strawberries which was good, cut some of the richness of it. don't know if I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Engdahl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Amazingly easy and simply scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Engdahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 992) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States