Cream Cheese Snowball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I added the whole box of cream cheese, they are a lot softer and if you like cream cheese this was great to have the extra! I also had to cook mine for 8-10 mins Excellent recipe, my mom liked mine better than the one shes been baking for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehall0731

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
So awesome! The only thing I would suggest is to refridgerate the 15 minutes before so they stay in the same shape. Also, I needed to cook mine for about 8-10 minutes; not 6. I keep them cold in the fridge and they are great snowballs to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
THESE ARE AMAZING! I love Mexican Wedding Cookies and these are similar with the addition of cream cheese and more cake-like--- which is better! I doubled the recipe for holiday cookie plates. MY CHANGES: I left out the almond extract (because I didn't have any and I don't normally like it anyway) and added a tiny bit more vanilla extract. I also used confectioners sugar in the dough mixture to give it a smoother texture. I mixed the finely chopped walnuts into the dough then rolled them in my hands to make little 1.5" balls. They baked for about 10 minutes, I think. I didn't really time them-- I just watched for golden edges. They kept their general "ball shape" and didn't flatten much at all. I let them cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet, then transferred them to a cooling rack. When they reached room temperature, I gently rolled them in a bowl of powdered sugar. My family was eating them as fast as I was finishing them. I love that these have the taste of a Mexican Wedding Cookie, but are softer and have the hint of cream cheese. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These were SO GOOD! I used all butter (no shortening) and they came out great; the cream cheese flavor isn't too strong but definitely gives the cookies a nice flavor and texture. I would recommend letting them cool about 4-5 minutes before rolling in the powdered sugar or they get sticky. I stored mine in a big ziploc bag with the remaining powdered sugar and they kept very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I didn't use any nuts, but instead added a small package of chocolate pudding to the mix and also added chocholate chips at the very end, before baking. I rolled them in the confectioners sugar and then put them in the fridge. Serve them COLD!! They freeze beautifully. You can really use as much cream cheese as you wish - I added more than the recipe called for and they were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Exceptional! I use Cinnamon-Sugar instead of Powdered Sugar to roll them in.........GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Naturita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Moist and yummy. A wonderful alternative to the original snowball. After reading the reviews I did refrigerate the dough for 15 minutes and that helps keep the snowball together. I did opt to add the nuts to the dough instead of rolling the cookie in nuts and I doubled the recipe. While my son Chef Junior (also on this site) is out making real snowballs here in snowy NH I am back to the kitchen to make the Peanut Butter Blossoms also on this site as part of a large cookie assortment tray I will bring to my New Years Eve gathering tonight. Happy New Years everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Supposed to get 24 cookies but instead I got 30 and yet had to bake them for 15 min. and still they were very doughy... The almond extract taste was overwhelming! Will never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These were easy to make, kids could help with rolling into balls because the dough is not messy. Love the cream cheese flavour and tenderness. I took these to a cookie exchange and everyone else wanted the recipe. People think they're short bread but are surprised (and delighted) to discover they're soft. I too found they needed more time in the oven. (Just keep an eye on them since ovens vary so much.) I didn't have any sugar to coat, or the optional walnuts, so I drizzled melted white chocolate over them and they looked and tasted great. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Ramirez
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Loved these cookies. I followed the instructions, with the exception of the walnuts(not a big fan). I did take some of the reviewers tips into consideration. Such as, refrigerate the mix for at least 15-20 minutes. It will be easier to manage and will hold their ball shape. Also I waited for them to cool down completed before rolling them in confectioners' sugar. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States