Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe dozens of times......the recipe is perfect, but everybody's oven is different. I use a dark pan, so I lowered the temp to 275 degrees and baked it for 1 hour 40 minutes. Using an oven thermometer helps because some ovens cook hotter, resulting in the outside cooking faster than the inside. Believe me, after much trial and error, with a few tweaks, this is a great, moist pound cake. Also, I use 1 teaspoon vanilla and two teaspoons almond extract which is really tasty! I've used this recipe for chocolate and coconut pound cakes, too. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times in the past month for various occasions. Everyone loves it. I added 1 tbsp of good vanilla extract, and it balances well with the cream cheese. One time I added the zest and juice of one lemon, and that was delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is my "Go to" recipe!! It never fails me!! Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYNIELSEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Very similar to a cake I've been making for years to raves from everyone who eats it! In addition to those ingredients I add 1 tsp. baking powder and 1 tsp. salt. Then I sift them into the mixture with the flour. Crunchy outside, creamy inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this cake last night to go with dinner. It was very easy to make with the simple ingredients and directions. I was looking for a pound cake loaf but decided to try this anyhow. It turned out great. My only complaint is trying to wrap a cake this shape to keep it from drying out is difficult. I put it in a plastic cake carrier and this morning the cut ends were a little dry. Other than that the cake is great. Its the same today as it was last night. I made the recipe exactly as it is written. I wouldn't make any changes unless you wanted a flavor like lemon or something, but we like it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Excellent pound cake. It is very moist and has a wonderful flavor. This was my first time using this recipe, but it won't be the last. I. Hope there is some left over tomorrow morning, I would like to have it with some strawberries for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe is the bomb . I use it for a chocolate layer cake and peanut butter layer cake , it was simply great. I like the flavor as well as the cake's body to hold homemade icing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Just perfect! Great density, not too sweet, a great base cake. I got a little crackly crust but that was tasty, too. Had the first slice warm with a little Nutella, delicious. Used a blackberry topping when I served it and it was well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is the best pound cake I have made. I used cake flour instead of all purpose. I read incorrectly and only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it is amazing. I will always cut the sugar in half now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Simply divine! In place of all-purpose flour, I used cake flour, adding an additional 2 tablespoons per cup called for. This made for a silken, velvety texture. Instead of vanilla extract, I used 2 teaspoons of almond extract (maybe a titch more of a splash) that sent this one over the edge delicious! Without modification, this cake will turn out great anyway. Some of us just have to put our own touch on things. I would suggest any type of a fruit garnish with a dollop of fresh whipping cream. Hopefully there will be some left so I can take my own advice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States