Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Amy Jordan
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This cake is phenomenal. My husband is something of a cake connoisseur (really it's the mainstay of his whole family's diet; I have no idea how they are so thin and healthy) and he says it's the best cake he's ever eaten. I never like cake without frosting (I'd just eat the frosting off most cakes if it was socially acceptable) and I loved it. I did modify a couple things. First of all, I used eggs fresh from my backyard and added them in one at a time. They never even went in the fridge so they were definitely room temp. I used room temp cream cheese and unsalted butter. I subbed, cup for cup, Swan's cake flour, and since it's much finer than AP flour, that probably accounted for why my first cake overflowed into the oven. I also added extra vanilla and also some vanilla bean. It's my humble opinion that there's no such thing as too much vanilla. Since my first cake overflowed and we had to stop midway for cleanup I have no idea how long actual cooking time was. It was much longer than 1:20 though. My second cake is in the oven now and I am cooking it on a cookie sheet plus some extra dough is waiting in muffin tins for later. This recipe seems very versatile and I'll be tweaking it more in the future. Thanks Nanci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Man oh man! Read all the reviews and decided to stick to the recipe the first time and see how it turns out. The only change was 2 tsp Almond Extract instead of vanilla. Started with room temperature ingredients, used my stand mixer to do the mixing, used a angel food cake tube pan in a preheated 325 oven for 90 minutes and the finished product was a slice of pure heaven! This cake is truly a keeper! May reduce the sugar a bit next time, a bit sweet as others have mentioned. The texture and taste of the cake is just wonderful, will make this one again for sure, soon as I run off all the calories and fat this cake has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe! I took the advice of previous reviewers by ensuring that the cream cheese, butter, and eggs were at room temp before mixing. I added the eggs one at time, mixing well after each. I used 2 tsp of vanilla extract (I LOVE vanilla). I started off in a cold oven and baked at 325 degrees for 1hr and 20 min. The result is a dense cake with a deliciously rich flavor. This will be my go to recipe for a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobodyyouknow79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyceA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I have made this cake several times since I found the recipe, it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Super fantastic, I made this cake for Thanksgiving and I am making it again today! As you guessed it didn't last long at all. I love this recipe, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Cake was very easy to make, very moist, but too sweet! Next time I will cut back on the sugar, and use a different flavoring instead of vanilla extract. Perhaps orange liquor, orange extract or orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a very good, moist cake, but it is also heavy - you will be full after the first serving! It is also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marizzze
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Really good cake and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious! This is my 1st attempt at making a pound cake in over 10 years and it was so gooood! I tried in the past and failed miserably. This is a great recipe. I took several suggestions from others that commented. I used cake flour instead of regular/enriched flour and I used 2 tsp. of vanilla flavoring instead of 1. Even with the increase in vanilla flavoring, the cake was not too sweet. All of the ingredients were room temperature. I thoroughly mixed ingredients at each step before moving to next step (I spent several minutes at each step). I think this is SUPER IMPORTANT. Taking your time in blending the ingredients will deliver a SUPERB cake. Also I baked the cake for 1 hour 40 minutes instead of 1 hour 20 minutes. The cake was not quite done at I hr 20 min. My oven must bake slow…This recipe is definitely a keeper. I can now honestly say that this IS the BEST POUND CARKE I EVER MADE AND TASTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This has become a family tradition for us. Both my boys like to help so I like this recipe because it is easy and you don't have to alternate eggs, flour, etc. for it to come out right. It is so moist and the crunchy edges are our favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States