Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Very good. I like the flavors better as originally posted or with the addition of just lemon. I tried it with lemon, buttermilk and sour cream as suggested and the flavors were muddied in the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is the BEST pound cake i have ever made, I have made it 3 times for different parties and it was gone in the 1st 10min!!! It is sooo amazing and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was so disappointed in this pound cake! I baked it for 1 hr 30 min. and the tester came out clean. It looked beautiful, came out of the pan perfectly and then collapsed into a wet, dense mound of dampness. I couldn't even salvage it for trifle. Such a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I don't know why - habit, I suppose - but I always mix my cakes up with a hand mixer...even though I FINALLY got the stand mixer of my dreams. Like I said, it must be habit. Well, my hand mixer died and I was in the mood to make this cake. Like nearly everyone else, I used Swan's Down Cake Flour instead of All Purpose (just too lazy to sift, resift, reresift, etc.) and my stand mixer. What a difference the stand mixer made in my pound cakes. I've always had delicious 5 Pound Cakes (they're THAT heavy, dense). This came out like a Cloud Cake (that beautifully light, airy) and I honestly believe the improvement in the texture made it taste even better. So, the recipe gets 5 stars because, well, YUMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!! but as a footnote I will say, if you have to save $1 a week for 4 years, it's worth it a thousand times over to have a good stand mixer when making this or any other cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Just made this recipe. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Perfect! Just what you want it to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I had to bake this cake for 2 hours 10 minutes and still it wasn't completely done on the inside! I beat the cream cheese and butter for 4 minutes, the sugar another 2 minutes and the flour another 2 minutes because of the other comments. The only thing I can blame the under cooked cake on is the oven temperature. The cake was very tasty but I was disappointed with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Awesome! Even more awesome when turned into Pineapple Cream Cheese Pound Cake. Use 1 can chunk pineapple, drained, add 3 T pineapple juice (delete vanilla) for the cake. Frost with Pineapple cream cheese frosting: 1/4 C butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 3 Cups confectioners sugar, 3 T Pineapple Juice, 1 can crushed pineapple (drained well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I've made this cake about 8 times. I've followed others' suggestion to place the cake in a cold oven and start the timer when the temperature comes up to 325 degrees F. This will help with the middle of the cake cooking through. Also making sure that all of the ingredients are room temperature (not cold from the fridge) also helps to set the cake. The last several times, I've cut the sugar to 2 Cups and substituted half the flour with almond meal. It came out to be very rich and slightly marzipany. More importantly, my Type I Diabetic mother-in-law said that this "modified" recipe does not spike her blood sugar. It's delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was my first time baking any cake from scratch and it turned out beautiful. I was a little concerned at first because I cut a slice when it was still warm but the next morning, very different. I'm new to baking from scratch and I don't understand why some put the cakes in cold ovens but I'm sure that I will learn. Will try other suggestions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States