Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is the best pound cake I have made. I used cake flour instead of all purpose. I read incorrectly and only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it is amazing. I will always cut the sugar in half now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Simply divine! In place of all-purpose flour, I used cake flour, adding an additional 2 tablespoons per cup called for. This made for a silken, velvety texture. Instead of vanilla extract, I used 2 teaspoons of almond extract (maybe a titch more of a splash) that sent this one over the edge delicious! Without modification, this cake will turn out great anyway. Some of us just have to put our own touch on things. I would suggest any type of a fruit garnish with a dollop of fresh whipping cream. Hopefully there will be some left so I can take my own advice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe made a wonderful shortcake! With fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream it is to die for. As per other reviews I added 1/4 cup of buttermilk which really made the cake moist. I also added a dash of lemon extract along with the vanilla because I prefer a slight lemon taste. This cake is quite dense, but it is so moist and delicious and pairs well with just about any fruit or is just great by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Very good cake, took about an hour and 45 min in my oven but worth the wait. Reduced sugar to 2.5 cups and made sure butter, cream cheese and eggs were at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I am giving this recipe five stars on faith. Like MichelleT, I mixed and baked the cake EXACTLY as directed, but ended up with an unbaked center. I was very disappointed because I made it for my husband's birthday and wanted him to be pleased. I read many of the reviews and believe that my ingredients must not have been room temperature. I plan to try again today, and keep trying until I get it right. It really is an easy recipe, but it takes experience to know just how to combine the magic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa Hice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I baked this cake yesterday, and I loved it. I took some to work to share with co-workers and everyone loved it. Several co-workers asked for the recipe. This is the first cake I've ever baked that lasted less than 24 hours. I did substitute 1/4 c of butter for 1/4 c of buttermilk and I added 1 tsp. of almond extract. I will definitely be baking this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I took a few suggestions from above kept butter same amount but added 1/4 cup buttermilk. Also added eggs one at a time. Also make sure ingredients are room temperature and use sofasilk cake flower..also added teaspoon of fresh lemon juice to give a hint of spring freshness. Was awesome ...a keeper family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Perfection!! I followed the recipe, with a slight addition of 1 tsp of almond extract. Everyone loved it! Perfectly dense, not too heavy, moist...this is now a dessert staple in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
An absolutely outstanding pound cake that needs nothing changed on it whatsoever. Dense, moist just perfect. Followed the directions to the letter which is usually hard for me as I'm sometimes one of those I'll just add a smidge of this or that. Changes will only make this less than what it is....excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnolia4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is my go to cake recipe for everything. My daughter requests it for every birthday, because it 'owns any store bought cake'. Sometimes I make cupcakes and they are awesome as well. I'm still searching for the perfect topping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSFABIAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States