Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was my first time baking any cake from scratch and it turned out beautiful. I was a little concerned at first because I cut a slice when it was still warm but the next morning, very different. I'm new to baking from scratch and I don't understand why some put the cakes in cold ovens but I'm sure that I will learn. Will try other suggestions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious-my whole family loved! I had to bake quite a bit longer(1.5 hrs) but it still turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The cake turned out pretty good. I love pound cakes. I substituted one and half cups of Splenda blend for the sugar because my husband is diabetic. He suggested that I use one and three fourths cups of Splenda blend. I also think that when I make it again, I will add one fourth cup of buttermilk to add a little moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This turned out great! I made some modifications. Used 2 1/2 cups sugar and low fat cream cheese. The out layer was too dry after baking 1 hour 25 min at 325. Next time I will make following changes. Use 1 1/4 cups butter 1/4c buttermilk, 2 1/4c sugar, 5 eggs and bake in cold oven for 90 min at 300 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Love this pound cake. It's super moist, but really heavy! If you're looking for a light dessert, this isn't it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This cake was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Jordan
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This cake is phenomenal. My husband is something of a cake connoisseur (really it's the mainstay of his whole family's diet; I have no idea how they are so thin and healthy) and he says it's the best cake he's ever eaten. I never like cake without frosting (I'd just eat the frosting off most cakes if it was socially acceptable) and I loved it. I did modify a couple things. First of all, I used eggs fresh from my backyard and added them in one at a time. They never even went in the fridge so they were definitely room temp. I used room temp cream cheese and unsalted butter. I subbed, cup for cup, Swan's cake flour, and since it's much finer than AP flour, that probably accounted for why my first cake overflowed into the oven. I also added extra vanilla and also some vanilla bean. It's my humble opinion that there's no such thing as too much vanilla. Since my first cake overflowed and we had to stop midway for cleanup I have no idea how long actual cooking time was. It was much longer than 1:20 though. My second cake is in the oven now and I am cooking it on a cookie sheet plus some extra dough is waiting in muffin tins for later. This recipe seems very versatile and I'll be tweaking it more in the future. Thanks Nanci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Man oh man! Read all the reviews and decided to stick to the recipe the first time and see how it turns out. The only change was 2 tsp Almond Extract instead of vanilla. Started with room temperature ingredients, used my stand mixer to do the mixing, used a angel food cake tube pan in a preheated 325 oven for 90 minutes and the finished product was a slice of pure heaven! This cake is truly a keeper! May reduce the sugar a bit next time, a bit sweet as others have mentioned. The texture and taste of the cake is just wonderful, will make this one again for sure, soon as I run off all the calories and fat this cake has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe! I took the advice of previous reviewers by ensuring that the cream cheese, butter, and eggs were at room temp before mixing. I added the eggs one at time, mixing well after each. I used 2 tsp of vanilla extract (I LOVE vanilla). I started off in a cold oven and baked at 325 degrees for 1hr and 20 min. The result is a dense cake with a deliciously rich flavor. This will be my go to recipe for a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobodyyouknow79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyceA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I have made this cake several times since I found the recipe, it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States