Cream Cheese Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I served this, with a couple modifications, instead of wedding cake at my wedding reception a couple months ago. I replaced the butter flavored extract with 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon lemon extract. I used mini-bundt pans (I put the batter in a freezer bag and then cut off a corner to get the batter into the pans), so each batch had to bake for only 20 minutes. To serve, we topped each fabulous little cake with strawberries and whipped cream. Our guests loved them, some referred to them as "doughnuts," and more than a few asked for the recipe. Thank you for the recipe and reviewer's comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_i_n_a

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This should really be a 4.5 star...my family gives rave reviews with only one complaint -- I can't seem to figure out how to keep it from getting too dark on the outside and done in the middle. Oh well. Maybe it's my pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
This did not turn out for me for some reason-the inside was mushy and the top burnt. I must have done something wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Fantastic pound cake. I've made twice in the last three weeks. Once just to serve with strawberries and the next time in a trifle recipe. It tastes just like the Sara Lee pound cakes my mom would buy as a kid...but homemade! I didn't use butter flavoring, just one tsp of vanilla extract and a half tsp of almond. Very good and I may try more variations with lemon and poppyseeds or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
this is the best pound cake i have ever made!all my family loved it .very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
delicious!! great for strawberry shorcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Wow! I've made this pound cake several times now and everyone raves and wants the recipe. I always make it the day before I need it because it even tastes better when all the flavors have had time to meet. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
The cake tasted good and looked good, but not great! It was not as dense as I wanted it to be, and a little dry. My husband really liked it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I thought this cake tasted awsome after I altered it to me and my family's liking. First thing I did was decreased the sugar to 2 1/2 cups, the eggs to 6 and the butter extract to 1tsp. plus added 1 tsp of lemon extract and 2 tsp. of vanilla extract. And as I said before it was awsome. For some reason though it got a little too brown on the bottom when I flipped it out of the pan. Don't know why, but the next time I'm trying loaf pans to see if that makes a difference. Once you cut off the burnt sides it was awsome, especially with a big glass of milk. It was very moist also and makes a good bit. This recipes a keeper for me! Thnks for submitting it Bonny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STROBLE
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
OH BONNY!! I'd like to thank you very much for sharing this recipe! This cake didn't last three days in my house, everyone absolutely loved it. The cake came out perfect it was very moist and flavorful. My boss wants the recipe and I don't even want to share it. I could go on and on about this cake, but to make a long compliment short, Bonny THIS CAKE IS THE BOMB!! :O) THANK YOU SONJA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STROBLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States