Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
A good, and not too complicated, pound cake. Cooking time is perfect - don't overdo it! The first time, I let the butter and cream cheese soften to room temperature. I think this made it lose some "fluff." The texture and consistency was much better the second time, when I used cold ingredients and had the flour and eggs pre-measured out into separate bowls so I could combine the ingredients more quickly. It made a difference! My changes: reduced sugar to 2c., used only vanilla (didn't have almond), and used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This c.ake is super rich and flavorful. Is very easy to make, the creativity is limitless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Effort, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Excellent! for a simple and elegant finish, tap a stainer of powdered sugar over your cake. So pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I have never been a big fan of pound cake but I LOVE THIS!!!! and everyone that has tried this recipe loves it too. I have to change a few things because my son has a diary allergy and we still comes out wonderful and fluffy. I have made it so many ways with all kinds of fruit fillings, as birthday cake and just the slices of ound cake by themselves. You can't go wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I have been making this cake for 30+ years and it has yet to fail me! The number of times I have been asked to bake this cake (I wished I had a dollar for each request :) The tick to having a moist cake what I have found...I sift my cake flour 2x's (I take out what I think is a little over 3 cups of cake flour and SIFT it into a bowl, thenI take a large serving spoon and gently shake the flour into a measuring cup, leveling it with the back side of a knife and shake , (not dump it) but shake it into the sifter. Then when the recipe calls for the flour to be added to the creamy batter, (this will be the second time the flour has been sifted) I know this may sound like a lot of work (and it could very well be) but not to me because of all of the raves I receive...well worth the work!!!! The recipe is sooo worth the effort put into it. I use various types of flavoring, lemon, coconut, I have even used lime juice! I am not a bit fan of almond by itself (I add vanilla to mine). Try using vanilla and lemon together!! Ummm-ummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Tastes chemical. Is it wrong to put too much extract? I put in a 9" cake tin & didn't know the center still wet. Only managed to re-bake but kind of too late. Ate some, but don't really like too much extract. Hv never had baked so failure b4. Looks like I hv to delete from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made this recipe twice already and it's irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaprem Proeung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I am getting ready to make a birthday cake for my mom, who is turning 65 in a couple of weeks. I needed a cake that had a great, simple, clean flavor and a nice, tight crumb for decorating. I decided to make this recipe exactly as written the first time around, and I wasn't disappointed. I couldn't even wait for the thing to cool off completely before nibbling at the crunchy brown top... sooo good. I know for my own personal tastes, this is money. But I will take some other bakers' recommendations and reduce the sugar to 2 1/2 cups next time. This recipe has endless possibilities for flavor combinations - I can't wait to play around with it! This is definitely the cake for my mom's birthday, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it's a cake that will have its own place in my everyday recipe collection as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is the best pound cake recipe ever. Everyone in my family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This cake has a lovely texture!! I added lemon extract in place of the almond. Within 24 hours it was gone!! I am not kidding but I am a wee bit embarrassed to say my husband and I were the only ones at home .He kept raving about it. I will bake this again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States