Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My mother and I have baked this cake for over 40 years. The only thing we do different is sometimes mix one pack of Dream Whip into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia allen
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made this last night and it was delicious! I used Plugra butter and it made the difference from the last pound cake I made. I love this recipe and will be using it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made a HALF-batch in a 9x5 pan which I sprayed with cooking spray and lined bottom w/parchment. Thanks to the comments of others because they were very helpful! For this half-batch, I cut back way back on the sugar to 1 cup, and it was still plenty sweet for me. Also used 1/2 cup butter, increased vanilla extract to ~2 tblsp and almond extract to ~2 tsp. Did not have cake flour so cut back on the flour by a few tblsps and added a bit of baking powder. Tried a few slices of the cake while still warm (couldn't wait!) with some chocolate sauce and lemon curd on the side...YUM! Will try with fresh fruit and whipped cream next! Thank you for the great recipe, PSTEWART!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great pound cake! Crumb texture is very fine thanks to the usage of cake flour. It has a pound cake yet cheesecake like texture... a bit reminiscent of an Asian style cheese cake. I used only 2 cups of sugar and half the amount of both vanilla and almond extract. I didn't put in the eggs and flour alternately, I simply ended up beating the eggs in one after another, and then once all the eggs were incorporated (and the batter was fluffy as a cloud), sifted in the flour, and a half tsp of baking powder just to ensure that it would rise well, and beat all the dry ingredients in on a low speed setting. This is a lovely pound cake with minimal changes, save reducing the sugar. My cake didn't sink very noticeably after taking it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VICKI
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is the absolute best cake recipe ever!! I followed the recipe exactly and it is not to sweet as some other reviewers wrote. Trust me, this recipe is perfect as written. I do use pure almond extract from King Arthur's so I don't know if that makes a difference. I creamed the butter, sugar and cream cheese in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer for 5 minutes. Than using the shield over the bowl I kept adding the flour and eggs alternating between the two while never shutting off the mixer. I baked in my convection oven at 300 degrees for exactly 75 minutes in a bundt cake pan. It came out perfect, nice crunch on the outside and to die for moistness inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I hsve used this as a basic cake for years, personally snd for decorated special occasion cakes. For wonderful compliments this cannot be beaten. It makes a great Strawberry short cake base, can be ice cream topped and my favorite is a plain slice with black coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I couldn't wait to tell you, I am eating the cake right now and it's been so long since I have eaten a true pound cake that I am in heaven. Great cake! I put a little in a loaf pan but the bulk is in my bundt pan, still baking, but lookin good. I was afraid it would come over the edge and I have a new stove, and am trying to keep it clean, hence the two pans. I let the small pan cool a little bit. At first touch it felt like it was not going to set but at last it did. Although, when I turned it out it came out it didn't come out in one piece. That's ok, I will eat it. :). I did put a pinch of soda, 1/2 tsp of baking powder, and the same in salt. Very good. A little crunchy outside, very soft inside, and no need for icing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this cake for Christmas for my future in-laws and it was a hit! I was really nervous because this was my 3rd attempt. I was determined to get it right! The key to perfecting this cake is the temperature of your oven. I had to increase to 350 for 1hr then decrease to 325 for an additional 35min. Be patient and make sure to check by using tooth pick.(I used a knife) looks can be deceiving! the last time I made this cake, it was perfect on the outside but gooey on inside but after sitting for a day it was good and my nephews loved it! This is my favorite pound cake recipe. I made a glaze using fresh lemon juice and powered sugar. I will be trying different extracts and try added fresh berries when in season. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have had this basic recipe for years and my family has loved it every time...Never had my cake to fall or anyone say anything about it being too sweet...this is the perfect recipe. I don't know why the cakes are falling but it sure isn't the recipe....this is the best one I have tried yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This cake is wonderful..moist annd decadent. I did not have almond extract so just doubled vanilla. I took it to a Christmas party and there was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixymom1963
Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States