Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KP
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Love this recipe. Everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
My preliminary finding is this is really, really sweet. I would recommend you cut the sugar in half. Otherwise, this did turn out well as my first pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is the most delicious pound cake. I get so many compliments wherever I take it. It is always the first cake to be eaten in entirety at the desert table. LOVE THIS CAKE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I tried this as my first homemade cake, and it was PERFECT! I admit I am not a baker, I will burn frozen cookings. But I couldn't believe how beautiful this cake turned out. It was delicious, I did ommit the almond abstract, & added extra vanilla. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoloDolo Iflyalone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My mother and I have baked this cake for over 40 years. The only thing we do different is sometimes mix one pack of Dream Whip into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia allen
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made this last night and it was delicious! I used Plugra butter and it made the difference from the last pound cake I made. I love this recipe and will be using it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made a HALF-batch in a 9x5 pan which I sprayed with cooking spray and lined bottom w/parchment. Thanks to the comments of others because they were very helpful! For this half-batch, I cut back way back on the sugar to 1 cup, and it was still plenty sweet for me. Also used 1/2 cup butter, increased vanilla extract to ~2 tblsp and almond extract to ~2 tsp. Did not have cake flour so cut back on the flour by a few tblsps and added a bit of baking powder. Tried a few slices of the cake while still warm (couldn't wait!) with some chocolate sauce and lemon curd on the side...YUM! Will try with fresh fruit and whipped cream next! Thank you for the great recipe, PSTEWART!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great pound cake! Crumb texture is very fine thanks to the usage of cake flour. It has a pound cake yet cheesecake like texture... a bit reminiscent of an Asian style cheese cake. I used only 2 cups of sugar and half the amount of both vanilla and almond extract. I didn't put in the eggs and flour alternately, I simply ended up beating the eggs in one after another, and then once all the eggs were incorporated (and the batter was fluffy as a cloud), sifted in the flour, and a half tsp of baking powder just to ensure that it would rise well, and beat all the dry ingredients in on a low speed setting. This is a lovely pound cake with minimal changes, save reducing the sugar. My cake didn't sink very noticeably after taking it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VICKI
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is the absolute best cake recipe ever!! I followed the recipe exactly and it is not to sweet as some other reviewers wrote. Trust me, this recipe is perfect as written. I do use pure almond extract from King Arthur's so I don't know if that makes a difference. I creamed the butter, sugar and cream cheese in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer for 5 minutes. Than using the shield over the bowl I kept adding the flour and eggs alternating between the two while never shutting off the mixer. I baked in my convection oven at 300 degrees for exactly 75 minutes in a bundt cake pan. It came out perfect, nice crunch on the outside and to die for moistness inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I hsve used this as a basic cake for years, personally snd for decorated special occasion cakes. For wonderful compliments this cannot be beaten. It makes a great Strawberry short cake base, can be ice cream topped and my favorite is a plain slice with black coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States