Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A successful recipe for a quick Cream Cheese Pound Cake I. Deliciously moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Wow this was absolutely awesome. Did not change a thing....which is odd for me. The cake has been devoured. So moist and rich. No toppings needed. They just detract from the wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this cake 3 different times this week. I love it! All three times I made it with confectioners sugar not granulated sugar. It turned out absolutely amazing, it is a heavy rich tasting cake. The first time I cooked it with 2 1/4 cups of sugar, in a bundt pan and used just vanilla, 1 TBSP plus 1 tsp. It was amazing topped with a dark chocolate ganache. The second time I used 2 1/2 cups of sugar, lemon extract in place of the almond and cooked in a bundt pan as well - it was amazing with a raspberry cream filling. The last time I used the recipe as is, baked in a large sheet 10 x 15 pan for 30 minutes. This cake I cooled overnight and then cut in half and stacked with a chocolate truffle filling then cut it into small petite fours with a poured chocolate fondant. MMMMMmmmmm! All I can say is this is my GO TO recipe for most of my specialty cakes from now on, I really like the cream cheese flavor and it is heavy and easy to work with cake for petite fours. I must say that I did enjoy it with the 3 cups of sugar, and did not find it too sweet, but I know that I can definitely adjust it depending on what the filling or icing will be to compensate for different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this recipe and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a great recipe. I changed it up a little bit and made it even better, promise the best pound cake you will ever eat. use 12 oz of cream chesse 5 eggs and and everything else the same but place 2 and a half cups of water in the oven with the cake to make it very moist. Hope you try this you wont regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is the only pound cake I bake with a few minor changes. I omit the almond flavor and use only lemon instead. I top it off with a strong citrus glaze and everyone ask me to bake my secret pound cake. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patriciaatl
Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was delicious. I did some modifications though. I added 1/2 t baking soda, 1/2 t baking powder, used 2 sticks of butter and 1 cup sour cream and also added a little extra vanilla & almond extract - to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was Wonderful, GREAT! I did not give it 5 stars because it lacked one item I use with all my pound cakes (Sour Cream). Great tasting! I did use vanilla and coconut as I do not like the almond taste. I will make again, Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicci's Secrets

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love the flavor and consistency of this pound cake. However, I have a mystery: I baked my cake in a bundt pan and the top of the cake just fell and crumbled to pieces. Too much air? I used a stand mixer and did what others suggested: I whipped the butter, cream cheese and sugar till fluffy, then alternated the flour and eggs. I consider myself a pretty good home baker and hoped to the a result would look like the picture...but no luck. Any advice? I also need a better release spray than the canola spray is used...I did have some sticking to the pan. I'm going to try the cake again. Practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I followed the instructions and it came out a little dry. I think maybe regular flour might have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States