Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent, traditional Southern poundcake! (The only change I made was to use all vanilla extract.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uptopargina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is an amazing pound cake! I took other users suggestions and reduced sugar to 2 1/2 cups. Also, instead of almond extract I used coconut extract. My whole family loves this cake! I've made it several times now with great results! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
MMM this is very good. I added lemon instead of almond. My first try at this, so i might be missing the moistness as i use a split oven, and used the top oven. I didn't realize it would rise so high..lol So we had to scrape off the cake from the burners and replace in the lower oven an extra 20 minutes. *It was still mushy in the middle so we transferred to the lower oven. Next time i'll use the lower oven only for this recipe. The cake is still quite tasty so i'm still happy with it.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I absolutely think this is by far the best pound cake recipe ever..I have played around with flavors and I like to add some lemon juice to it and hold back on the almond..I usually do about 1 tsp lemon and 1/4 tsp. almond and 1 tsp. vanilla. I also have done it in a cold oven and it tends to give the cake the crust I like for the top. then 325 Make sure you grease your pan well and flip to top to enjoy the crust. We take this to the beach and enjoy fresh strawberries and fresh peaches for our desserts throughout the week! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Hands down the best pound cake ever. I did it the Paula Deen way, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract. Dense and moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I made this cake exactly as the recipe says and it turned out perfect!! I will make this cake again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A successful recipe for a quick Cream Cheese Pound Cake I. Deliciously moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Wow this was absolutely awesome. Did not change a thing....which is odd for me. The cake has been devoured. So moist and rich. No toppings needed. They just detract from the wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this cake 3 different times this week. I love it! All three times I made it with confectioners sugar not granulated sugar. It turned out absolutely amazing, it is a heavy rich tasting cake. The first time I cooked it with 2 1/4 cups of sugar, in a bundt pan and used just vanilla, 1 TBSP plus 1 tsp. It was amazing topped with a dark chocolate ganache. The second time I used 2 1/2 cups of sugar, lemon extract in place of the almond and cooked in a bundt pan as well - it was amazing with a raspberry cream filling. The last time I used the recipe as is, baked in a large sheet 10 x 15 pan for 30 minutes. This cake I cooled overnight and then cut in half and stacked with a chocolate truffle filling then cut it into small petite fours with a poured chocolate fondant. MMMMMmmmmm! All I can say is this is my GO TO recipe for most of my specialty cakes from now on, I really like the cream cheese flavor and it is heavy and easy to work with cake for petite fours. I must say that I did enjoy it with the 3 cups of sugar, and did not find it too sweet, but I know that I can definitely adjust it depending on what the filling or icing will be to compensate for different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this recipe and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States