Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
very good,family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I literally had to freeze this to keep myself from eating it. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups like others suggested, otherwise did exactly as original poster in 2 9" bread tins. PERFECT at 325 for 35 minutes. Added lavender icing over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I tried this twice and just couldn't get it right. The flavor of the batter is wonderful, but my final product left a lot to be desired. The first attempt fell. I thought it might have been the cake flour I used, so I tried again with regular flour. The second attempt was a little better, but not much. Both seemed to be very eggie for me. I like a heavy cake, but this was too much. However my husband liked it. I'll try one of the variations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
When Grandma LTH requested Strawberry Shortcake for her 85th birthday cake, I was momentarily flummoxed (I prefer my cake sans fruit). I turned to resident culinary guru Naples for help and she steered me in the direction of this recipe and I'm so glad she did! I followed the recipe to a "T" (though I did bake in mini bundt pans, resulting in a decreased bake time...about 35 minutes) and the results were delicious! I knew they were going to rock when I couldn't stop stealing swipes of raw batter! I did not eat a strawberry topped cake, but I did enjoy the tidbits I leveled off to all for a smooth bottom. THANKS for a great recipe (and special thanks to Naples for pointing me in the right direction!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
for some reason my cake turned out rubbery...taste was ok but texture was weird =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This poundcake was absolutely delicioso! I read some of the other reviews of people who added sour cream to the recipe. Because I was afraid of the cake being too dry, I added 3 T of milk. I'm not sure if this helped the moisture or not, but it was very tasty, delicious, and incredible. I am going to asky mysister, Adora, to make it for my husband's 40th birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esha Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great Cake! I baked it once like the receipe stated and it fell. Second time I used reg. flour, 1 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. baking powder. Baked at 300 for 1 hr. 45 min. and it came out great! I will replace my old receipe with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I have made this cake for over 15 years but a slight variation. I just juse one tablespoonful of vanilla and beat it with the cream cheese and butter. I add eggs one at a time and beat well. I add the cake flour last and just mix until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was so excited to make this, but after 1 hour 10 min it was nice and brown and beautiful. Within 10 min of removing it from the oven it sank to half it's height.....I flipped it over onto a plate and it looked so pitiful. I beat the cream cheese/butter/sugar for over 5 min with a handheld mixer...maybe that was the problem-the handheld mixer. I also only had 5 eggs, so used 1/4 cup applesauce for the last egg....maybe that was the problem. Oh well I will stick to my lemon pound cake yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Came out nothing like the photo....it actually resembled a brick! (in bundt form of course) It definitely needs a levining agent (the eggs just don't cut it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States