Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this cake tonight because I purchased a huge amount of cream cheese to make cheesecake for a party and had some left over. I was in the mood for something sweet but without overpowering glazes or frostings. This cake fit the bill. It's got such a soft texture and just the perfect amount of crustiness around the edges. The flavors were super delicate and needed nothing else added to it. This cake was well liked by everyone in my family. It would also be good served with fresh berries and cream if you want a little fancy. Next time I will substitute the almond extract for orange extract just to play with flavors a bit. All in all a crowd pleaser!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
jus popped this one in the oven... added both vanilla and almond extract...the batter was delicious cant wait for the finished product....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great cake. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and all vanilla, no almond. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
So Good! Soft, delicate flavor and crumb...just melts in your mouth....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
What an awesome recipe!!!! My favorite one so far. The instructions are very clear. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
WOW- thought I would have lots left for Sunday Dinners dessert- Nope my family loved this recipe, even the grandbaby who's one and shares everything would not share this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Reduced the sugar by 1/2 C. and found it to be perfectly enjoyable without being overly sweet. Also, this required 15 extra minutes to bake through as a knife inserted came out still somewhat wet, so I would suggest between 15-20 extra minutes of baking, checking every 5 minutes or so. To get the dense and fluffy texture, take your time making this -- cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, and don't rush alternating flour & eggs: beat them until thoroughly incorporated, scraping down the sides of the bowl after every addition is mixed in. This takes time but the results are worth it. We didn't have almond extract so doubled the vanilla. Made by my 11 year old daughter with minimal assistance, and served with fresh blueberry sauce. The cake came out tasting like a very fine, soft and toothsome vanilla sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
OH MY GOSH! This is so good. I used a little cream icing on top. I change it around a bit. I love almond. So I did 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1 tablespoon of almond. It taste like wedding cake. REALLY GOOD......AND I don't like pound cake. My husband does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
OMG! This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. Like others, I used 4 oz of sour cream because I like the flavor. I also reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups. I also used an Angel Food pan, due to the large amount of batter. My husband came out to the kitchen and remarked that it was the largest pound cake he'd ever seen. Served it with strawberries and whipped cream, but love it plain as well. The outer crunch is a great texture combined with the moist softness of the inside. This pound cake blew our socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States