Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Reduced the sugar by 1/2 C. and found it to be perfectly enjoyable without being overly sweet. Also, this required 15 extra minutes to bake through as a knife inserted came out still somewhat wet, so I would suggest between 15-20 extra minutes of baking, checking every 5 minutes or so. To get the dense and fluffy texture, take your time making this -- cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, and don't rush alternating flour & eggs: beat them until thoroughly incorporated, scraping down the sides of the bowl after every addition is mixed in. This takes time but the results are worth it. We didn't have almond extract so doubled the vanilla. Made by my 11 year old daughter with minimal assistance, and served with fresh blueberry sauce. The cake came out tasting like a very fine, soft and toothsome vanilla sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
OH MY GOSH! This is so good. I used a little cream icing on top. I change it around a bit. I love almond. So I did 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1 tablespoon of almond. It taste like wedding cake. REALLY GOOD......AND I don't like pound cake. My husband does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
OMG! This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. Like others, I used 4 oz of sour cream because I like the flavor. I also reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups. I also used an Angel Food pan, due to the large amount of batter. My husband came out to the kitchen and remarked that it was the largest pound cake he'd ever seen. Served it with strawberries and whipped cream, but love it plain as well. The outer crunch is a great texture combined with the moist softness of the inside. This pound cake blew our socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was very good. I took it to a cookout and it was the most popular dessert. I made as listed except I reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cooks as other suggested. It has a great texture. I made a cream cheese glaze to go over it, and that worked quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Simply great. Also makes a wonderful base for strawberry shortcake! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
do citrus glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was my first time making a pound cake so I took the advice of several reviews. I used 2.5 cups of sugar, cut the almond extract to 1/2 tsp and increased the vanilla by 1/2 tsp. I used two loaf pans and had to bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes for the middle to be done. Delicious! I may use the full teaspoon of almond extract next time, but this is only going to be a cake only for special occassions for me because of all the butter and eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
great receipe, my husband love it! thanks for this delicious receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
EXCELLENT !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wow... I've never made a pound cake. This is fabulous. Did the lemon extract instead of almond and substitute flour thing. I'm a gadget person so used my divided rectangle cake pan. It is larger than the advertised brownie one. Came out perfect. Only needed to bake 45 mins at 325 in my convection oven. I love to make cupcakes so will try next time. Great recipe to get creative with flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panama Paradise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Arraijan, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States