Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written and thought it was perfect. It actually seems to get even better after a day or two, but doubt it will last too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I started with 4 oz of cream cheese and modified the recipe accordingly. I reduced sugar to 1 cup and reduced butter to 1/2 cup. I doubled the flavorings: 2 tsp almond and 2 Tbsp vanilla. I didn't have cake flour, so I used 1.5 cup wheat flour. This made a loaf of cake. The cake was very dense, fragrant, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Awesome cake; this is my first pound cake ever, and it was Very easy to make, and DELISH. rich without making your teeth sing...my coworkers loved it, as well as my family. I didn't have almond extract, so used a bit of amarretto syrup I had on hand. For a topping, I simply made a glaze by heating butter and blueberries (frozen ones from parent's garden) in a small sauce pan, adding in orange juice, confectioner's sugar and a small bit of vanilla. that wasn't too bad either. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a great pound cake recipe! I made this over the December holidays as part of a breakfast spread. I made a strawberry sauce with fresh and frozen strawberries, sugar and vanilla extract cooked down just a bit. It was perfect! I baked mine in 2 loaf pans and it took a little longer to bake so after the 1st hour I covered them with foil so they wouldn't get too brown on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Made this cake this morning and just tried a piece; it turned out PERFECTLY! I followed all the ingredients in the recipe except I cut the sugar back to 2.5 cups and used regular flour so I removed 2 tablespoons flour for each cup of flour, for a total of 6 tablespoons. In 1990 I found an article on baking pound cakes and pull it out every time I bake one. If you have never read an article on this, I suggest going to a baking web site and see what they say because there are important steps to follow. If you don't feel like going through the trouble then at the very least follow these steps: Cream the butter & cream cheese 2 minutes. Slowly add sugar and cream butter/cream cheese/sugar for 7-10 minutes for a hand mixter and 5 minutes for a stand mixer; this is a VERY IMPORTANT STEP for this recipe because the air will make the cake rise. Stir in extract. Add flour and egg alternatively, beginning and ending with flour mixture; only mix enough to incorpate the flour and egg ... don't overmix. This is a new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Easy to make and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wow, this is the best pound cake that I've ever made/tasted! I used all vanilla extract and it came out great. A few tips..DO NOT open the open to check on this, as it will fall if you do (as I found out the first time I made this)! I also used regular flour and reduced each cup by 2 tbspns as others suggested, and make sure that you beat well after adding each egg as it will give you more of an airy texture but yet still have that pound cake consistency. Fabulous recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This has become my go to pound ckae recipe. Moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Excellent, had some left over cream cheese. The cake was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great, easy pound cake! I was told by a wise older cook to put a cup of water in the oven with the cake for moisture. It always turns out so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States