Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I was looking forward to having this cake as a part of my non-traditional Christmas dessert offerings. My intentions were to make whipped cream and strawberries as well as a caramel pecan drizzle for slices of this cake. Unfortunately, I love the texture, but I used a loaf pan and it rose and cracked, got crunchy around the edges and what not. My son loved the crusty parts. (he said it tasted like a fortune cookie). This cake is way too sweet when made exactly as the directions say. and way too much trouble for what it's worth. As a future Culinary Arts student, I almost let my failing at this recipe get my spirits down, but alas- my quest continues for the perfect pound or 7up cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanee
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is super yummy!! Best ever. I love it just as the recipe states. I've however experimented multiple times with different extracts. My latest using this recipe....I omited the recipes extracts and I added 3 diced fresh apples, a dash of nutmeg, tsp of maple extract, tsp of cinnamon. I thought it was amazing. I have also made this using lemon extract. My favorite though is the almond extract. I always make mine in a bundt cake pan. This recipe is fantastic. You are missing out if you don't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This cake came out perfect, It was moist and very delicious. This can also be used to make a lemon pound cake as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDACEHENLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very good! The batter alone is to die for. :) I did make it in a glass plan so dropping the temp down to 300 and keeping an eye on it after an hour is a good idea. Also used the all purpose flour method by removing 2tbs per cup and used two tbs vanilla. Im not a fan of almond. Next time I think I will try it with lemon extract and the blue berry glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Delicious the only things I changed were no almond extract I added extra vanilla and reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups follwed everything else it was my first time not using a box mix and I was amazed!! The recipe is simple but fantastic thank you for shareing this is my new favorite cake :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Wow, this is a good, HEAVY pound cake. I reduced the sugar to 2.5 cups and the almond to 1/2 tsp (still very almond-y) and increased the vanilla to 1.5 tsp. No other changes. I mixed it very well, so it rose beautifully. I baked it in a bundt pan for 1 hour and 15 min, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
yummy and comes out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jckelly916
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
this recipe was awesome it's good by it's self or with Icing. I used this recipe to make a layered birthday cake and it turned out awesome. One of my new favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is sooo good. I substituted Smart Balance for the butter, used organic, unrefined sugar and whole wheat flour and it was fabulous. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
OMG YUM.. I am eating a piece now, and I have to tell you. I was short two eggs so I had to substitute with applesauce, and I used margarine instead of butter. Yet, its STILL good.. surprisingly moist, sweet. You don't need glaze for this one folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States