Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I have read many of the comments about decreasing the sugar - I just wanted to mention that I have this recipe only it calls for 3C of SUPERFINE sugar - I wonder if that makes all the difference....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is the epitome of pound cake. I did not use the almond extract and replaced with additional vanilla. I used a lemon glaze recipe from my Granny, but the cake doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akesha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Great cake! Very nice texture even without using cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NativeTexasGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I have made this cake for many years now but I add a package of butterscotch chips and only 1 tsp of vanilla flavoring. Super delicious even made into cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I just made this cake today. It's delicious! I used coconut flavoring instead of the almond extract..soo good. I used 2 1/4 c. sugar..as advised by other reviews . Perfect sweetness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maggipot
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
The taste of this cake is amazing, and fairly easy to make - it turned out very well at the first try and was rich and dense with just the right amount of cheesiness oozing through the buttery flavour. A true dense pound cake that's delicious even when eaten plain. In fact, I preferred it without frosting. I would recommend this to anyone! However I've given it 4 stars because 3 cups is just too much sugar - I used 2.5cups and it was still extremely sweet. For those who don't have a sweet-tooth, I would recommend a cut to 2 1/4 cups or even 2 cups of sugar. Also while the texture of the cake was perfect, it wasn't an even colour. This is usually rectified by ensuring the cheese and butter are creamed together at room temperature, but my cake was mildly splotchy even though I did so. However it's mild enough not to be a detrimental factor unless you're baking it for a event like a wedding where the aesthetics has to be 100% perfect. This cakes also works extremely well when used for heavy fondant and gum paste decorations (I did) as it's sturdy enough to withstand quite a bit of weight. Last note: if you're not familiar with or fond of almond extract, don't use it. I cut my almond extract down to 1/2 tsp but it was still very strong and the next time I bake this I would substitute the almond for more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggipot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I followed suggestions of decreasing the sugar and adjusting the flavorings. The adjustments made this near perfect! Next time I will decrease the sugar a bit more..it was still plenty sweet. It doesn't last long though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grace
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this the way I often make cakes, taking some of the butter and sugar out, and it was so good! It was dense, rich, and sweet. I served it with whipped cream and strawberries and blueberries. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
First of all I went exactly by recipie. Cake was way too sweet! I am not sure if the other reviewers noticed but it says 1 TABLEspoon of vanilla which equals to about 3 teaspoons! Cake was a weird texture and somewhat dry compared to the pound cakes I have made without cream cheese. Sorry to say cake went in the trash after 4 people tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would glady do so! Extremely tasty recipe. I follow the advise of other reviews and subtracted 6 tbsp of flour from the 3 cups I had, and I also added like a 1/4 cup of buttermilk (didn't have actual buttermilk so I added 2 tbsp of white vinegar to 1/4 cup milk) and it came out great! The hubby bit his fingers TWICE on one slice. Thanks for a lifetime recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef_Val

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States