Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Had my daughter make this for family Christmas party. It was a huge hit even the members that hate black olives at least said they were adorable! Used chive and onion cream cheese to fill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These penguins were such fun. Everybody was enthralled with them. I made them using a lot of the hints, such as flavoring the cheese and putting the beaks into the crosscut end. Using marinated roasted red peppers with garlic for the scarves made them tastier. In assembling them, I dried the olives as much as possible and did the plastic bag trick for filling them (also filled the head). Keeping the areas as dry as possible seemed to do the trick as far as keeping the cheese from smearing all over the olives. Putting on a big white restaurant apron, dampening a double sheet of paper towel and laying it on the table in front of me was the beginning. When I got cheese on my hands I dampened them on the towel and wiped them on the apron. Then using a facial tissue, wiped the outside of the olives (paper towel was too stiff). Worked like a charm. Valerie, thanks for the unique idea. Thanks also to the member who said to transport them, put a sheet of plastic wrap over the picks to keep them upright. They were transported a hundred miles and only a couple had tipped over. They were also made 3 days before being used. A dampened paper towel under them and covered with the plastic wrap kept them fresh. Even the feet and beaks stayed bright orange. I taped the plastic to the rectangular container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this for a Christmas finger food event (definitely would work for any winter event). Although it was a little tedious to put it all together, it was relatively easy (my grandson helped me). I think that the cream cheese was bland by itself and needed a little zip. I can't decide if just some onion and garlic powder would have been enough, or possibly some Spice Islands Beau Monde seasoning would have made it a little more tasty. I wanted to maintain the white coloring of the cream cheese so maybe a flavored whipped cream cheese would have also worked. Definitely would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My daughter-in-law makes these for any family gatherings and every one just loves them. Now I know how to make them, I certainly will. They are a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was great for a laugh, but not very delicious. Next time I'm going to use mozzarella cheese to make them also edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I tried this recipe. The penguins were a huge hit. everyone loved them and they weren't hard to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is a terrific recipe and very creative! A real attention getter. 2 TIPS for you this time: Add 1 envelope of Knorr Leek Soup Mix to a tub of cream cheese for unbelievably awsome flavor(every one of our guests raved). We set them on a platter of crushed ice and a bowl of spinach dip in the middle. Second, use a plastic zip-lock sandwich bag filled with the cream cheese with a tiny snip in one corner to 'pipe' the cheese into the olives. MUCH EASIER than a spoon!!! You will be able to knock them out in seconds! Hats off to you Valerie Lynne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
cute!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Very easy to make and they were the hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flipper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I'm giving these five stars because of the cuteness factor. They are time consuming and my husband thought I had too much time on my hands. However, my guests loved them. I can't stand olives, but had to make them for conversation if nothing else. Next time I'll prepare some type of iceberg to put them on for real effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States