Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These are worth making just for the conversation piece and the giggles from the kids! I will use flavored cream cheese next time, plain cream cheese is just too bland. For assembly: I cut the feet and beaks in advance, and piped the cream cheese into the bodies. Then my kids, 13 and 10, assembled the penguin. For a fun winter party idea, we served with a cheese ball recipe that we rolled into 3 different size balls and assembled to look like a snowman. Use whole peppercorns to make the eyes, smile, and buttons, and a baby carrot finely whittled down for the nose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
As far as being adorable, these were the hit of my NYE party. The problem is, they aren't the best tasting things. Either way, I'll make them again just because of the giggles it brought. It only took me 30 minutes to make and I followed many of the suggestions in the reviews. For anyone who complains about it being so time consuming, you're doing something wrong. I whipped through them pretty fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
These are so darn cute as a garnish, everyone adored them. I found them time consuming and would have given myself more time. I made 6 only and did find the cream cheese difficult to work with, keeping them tidy, but cute as heck! Tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Found extra large canned black olives used with small and used roasted red pepper sliced into thin strips for scarf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
They are pretty bland as is. I made jalapeno pepper hats for a little spice, roasted red pepper scarves, and used the regular cream cheese. Very cute. (At least until my husband's "seal attack" doused them with Tabasco sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurieP
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were a hit at my New Year's Eve Party! I found using a styrofoam plate turned upside down worked great to hold them in place since you could simply push the tooth pick into the plate. An added bonus, the white plate looks like snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Got so many comments and laughs! I added 1 tablespoon of bottled Ranch Dressing to the cream cheese and piped it into the olives. Will make again along with my Chocolate covered cherry mice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Cute, fun and easy to make. Definitely need to add flavor to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I wish I had read all the reviews before I attempted these; there are some great hints. They are sooo cute and were a smash hit. I did not buy the largest olives,colossal; I bought large like it said. Next time I will use the largest available! Therefore trimming the carrot for the nose and the pepper for the scarves were tedious. I used good seasons dry spicy Italian dressing in the cream cheese for seasoning then used the left over as a veggie dip. But the finished product was cute as heck and went over well. People agreed to take them home but would not eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Cute, conversation starter, but annoying to make and not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States