Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by Glitter Side
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These are so cute!! My guests just LOVE them. Put's a unique twist to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitter Side

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very cute! Very fun! Unfortunately, very time consuming...but the praise and compliments I received were worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were quite a hit at a party I went to, but the little critters kept falling down. I like the review that suggested a foam base with the toothpicks sticking into the foam. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have done these 2 years in a row BIG HIT !!!!!!!! kids love to help make them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
kids love em...USE HAM SLICES FOR A SCARF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaGold

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These deserve a 5 for presentation but lacks a little in flavor. I added some ranch mix to cream cheese to spice it up a bit. I used jumbo for bottom, medium for top and it was perfect but large. I may try large/small next time. I also put little banana pepper dabs to look like a tie instead of a scarf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These were so much fun at the New Year's Party last night! People actually gathered around it and took pictures of them. I had a piece of celery that acted as a teeter totter on a large dried marshmellow under the center. I made a mini sign that said "Happy New Year!", held on a toothpick and put in on the penquin that was in the air of the teeter totter. Added pieces of brocoli that served as bushes on the platter. wholla! A great presentation that was so much fun for the kids as the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I love penguins and so this recipe was perfect for my New Year's Party. I only had medium olives, so I used them for both the head and the body, trying to use smaller olives from the can for the heads, but regardless, worked out fine. I used the little X in the olives for the place to insert the carrot beak. Also, for the body, I cut two slits, to remove a wedge-like section instead of just one slit and opening up the olive. This way, I didn't have to fill the olive with too much cream cheese, and since I didn't have to hold it open, it made filling it easier. I also used a ziploc bag with the corner cut. super easy. My guests loved them and even wanted to make some themselves! I only made a partial recipe, so the remaining cream cheese was sliced up and layered to create ice floes on which the penguins stood. Thanks so much for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I have a friend who collects penguins!!! Just imagine his face on new years eve when I made these! He not only thought they were the cutest thing ever , but they taste good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Really fun and went together easier and quicker than I expected. The feet were perfect with just a little wedge cut out of a slice of small carrot - they all stood up. Used cutout portion to make the nose. For me the cream cheese baggie was way more trouble than just smoothing with a finger and then wiping any excess off during assembly. Made them the evening prior to our dinner and left uncovered in fridge overnight - were still perfect. As others said, not terribly tasty but so cute that they got their pix taken many times and I got rave reviews! Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States