Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A few tips for a successful penguin assembly. For the penguin body take a jumbo olive and use the small "cross" on one end as a template for cutting. Use a sharp knife with a pointed tip and insert it into the "cross". Use the slot made from the pitting process as a guide for your knife and make your first cut. Follow the next tip of the "cross" to make your second cut. This will give an even 1/4 part to remove. I use a butter knife and regular cream cheese to fill the penguin bodies. Using a small amount on the tip of the knife it slides in quite easily. Use your finger to touch up where needed. For the heads it works best to cut narrow triangles. Insert them through the large hole end and the "beak" will pop out of the smaller hole. Use a toothpick to push through. The rest of the penguin is easy to assemble. Just made sure the carrot is nice and thick to create a sturdy base. A nice variation is to mince smoked salmon, fresh dill and a squeeze of lemon juice into the cream cheese before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanna
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this for my office Christmas party, they are great for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These little guys are so darned cute! I added onion powder and 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt to the cream cheese and piped it in with a baggie. I made the tiny mistake of buying Colossal olives, and the toothpick barely made it through the plump penguins! So stick to the Jumbos. I found that the thinner you slice your carrots, the easier the "beak" fits into the slit on the head. Oh, what a yummy mouthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These are awesome!! Easy, taste great and put a smile on everyones face. Brought these to a party and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These are so fun. Easy to make and the kids adore them. I have now made them twice and they were a hit both times. I used roasted red peppers for the scarves. Make sure that you cut them super thin so that they fit around the neck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These are a real hit at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family really loved the way these looked. I am not a very big fan of black olives but my guests enjoyed them. I think changing the cream cheese to something with flavor would have made them a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made them for a party yesterday and they were the hit of the day. Our hockey team is The Penguins, so several people wanted the recipe and directions. I did add some garlic and onion powders to make them taste better since some here thought they were tasteless.I made the cheese into tiny balls and put them in the freezer for a half hour to make it easier to manage. It is a mess to deal with the room temp cheese, so freezing helps to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were yummy. As others stated, very time consuming. Not sure if they are worth the time but they are cute. I used garden vegetable cream cheese for flavor & piped a thin line of plain cream cheese to make it white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have made this recipe for years after finding it in an appetizer cookbook. Looks really cute with the cream cheese igloo next to them. Very good recipe and really gets the party started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States