Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because they were so fun for me & my 11 yr. old daughter to make. I added just a bit of garlic powder to the cream cheese & used a baggie with the corner cut off to "pipe" in the cream cheese. Are they the best tasting appetizer...no, but they are SOOOO cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I do not like olives. (To me, they smell like wet baby diapers! :) But to my guests they were so wonderful! Everyone loved love them! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misstanai
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Yum, I put about half a pouch of a Hidden Valley Dips mix in the creamcheese. I used baby carrots only because thats all I had. I DO NOT reccomend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misstanai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have a granddaughter who is penguin crazy and I just had to make these for her. It was easy and they look so dare cute. Make sure you have a large carrot and I would use a small size spoon to stuff the large olive to make it easier. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Hallengren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
VERY CUTE! I had a hard time getting the feet to stay on, but really cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarriLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parothstein
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
THANK YOU for sharing this great idea! We had an Iron Chef contest at work & the appetizer had to have olives in it-I won 1st place a $50 gift card! I added dry ranch to the cream cheese for the tummies and because it was "diversity week" at work, printed out tiny flags froms different countries and glue-sticked onto the toothpicks. I added roasted red pepper scarves as well. Made an 'igloo' out of cream cheese and chopped up black and greene olives and added green olive juice 'to taste' until I had a dirty martini flavor.. Put saran in a round bowl and plopper in the mixture to make the igloo size. next morning popped it out and covered with a thin layer of whipped cream cheese and made 'igloo cubes" with a tooth pick...made the entrance by taking 1/4 of a block of cream cheese and folding it into an arch. SUCH A HIT! Serve the dirty 'martini dip" on butter crackers. Thanks again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
People loved these! I think it took me well over an hour, though. It took at least an hour to put them together and about 5 min. prep time for the carrots. I found I had to cut down the 'noses', too, to get them to fit in easily and not smoosh in the faces. I thought they tasted just fine - no need to add any seasoning. I found it quite difficult to stuff the cheese into the olive as well, without getting it all over the olive. I then tried a piping bag (ziplock) and I liked it, but the cream cheese got warm and didn't look very nice so I had to chill the bag and try it again. It just took a while for me to get it figured out the best way to get the cheese in there - a small kids spoon did not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I haev made these several times, and they are WONDERFUL. Though time-consuming to prepare, they taste great and look so cute that some people refuse to eat them! Every time I make them, people rave about them. EDIT: I entered them into a 2011 cooking contest at our state fair, and won first place in the appetizers and finger foods competition. Everybody loved them, and the onions and chives cream cheese spread worked great. Ad don't forget the baby penguins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very cute! My kids loved them. It does take awhile to make them, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
A little time consuming but very fun. I still have one in the deep freezer that i talk to when I go in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States