Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was the best. We used them for our Winter Ball at church. The only suggestion I have is that you fill them and make the heads, then assemble them AFTER you get to your destination. They don't travel well. Cut the carrots a little thicker. We also added a small amount of sour cream so we could use a pastery bag to pipe the filling into the tummies. This was probably the best of the best that I have used in entertaining. AT HOME: we aren't quite as elaborate. We slice the olives, laya slivered carrot in the middle--then pipe the filling in. We don't like pemintos, so the carrot as a little texture and color. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Really cute, I had guests taking pictures of them. I had them on a platter with an igloo cheeseball, and they were def the hit of the party. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlemyu
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Truly adorable little penguins AND delicious!! I've made these twice now and everyone I have shown them to loved them as well and also asked for the recipe (that's how you know it's good :]). The first time I accidentally got all my olives the same size, but this didn't really matter. I've tried using regular cream cheese as well as a chive/garlic flavored whipped cream cheese. The whipped one was definitely easier to work with (it's already soft) and it tasted good, but it didn't have as much flavor as regular cream cheese. Next time I'll try adding some herbs and such to the regular cream cheese. These were a bit time-consuming to make at first, but after the first few penguins you'll get the hang of it and go faster. For more useful tips, everyone has already mentioned them, so just look through the top comments :]!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
We had too much fun making these. But I have a trick with the heads...I inserted the carrot piece threw the big whole that points to the back...and with a toothpick pushed the carrot piece gently through the already cross tipped whole for the beak...And I used the Chive and Onion Whipped cream cheese that I had on had...talk about cute, adorable and a conversation piece. Thank you...all my penguins thank you too. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These were great for a winter party! Big hit. Even the folks who didn't like olives thought they were so cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Richmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made these at christmas time and everyone thought they were just too cute. So now they have been planned for the Super Bowl Party with a few changes. I made a practice batch just to make sure they would turn out perfect before the big game In honor of both teams I made a double batch just as written and added a small slice of yellow bell pepper down the front of the cream cheese to represent the Steelers and then used green olives with mozzerella/ string cheese for the Packers. My man and my kids laughed so hard. We placed them on a large cardboard piece , covered with a light coating of cream cheese and covered that with dried parsely to represent the field and used canned cheese to make the hash marks LOVE this recipe.Thanks Valerie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Corbin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I used this one at Christmas (huge hit) and I'm thinking of coming up with either a green olive Green Bay Packer or a regular penguin as used in this recipe with a green pepper scarf (Green Bay Fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindi Lyon Buell
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Cloverdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Even though it takes some time and effort it was a big hit at my party that people still talk about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These little cuties were a hit - I even had people taking pictures of them. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I flavored the cream cheese just to spice it up, but everyone loved the look :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States