Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were wonderful! I now crave them constantly! These will be a staple in my holiday goodie boxes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Made hundreds and dipped in chocolate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by braylicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Way too much sugar! Maybe I did it wrong, though. My understanding was to mix all of the sugar in the mix??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were very easy and really good! I couldn't stop eating the dough! I had to add more powdered sugar and a lot more peppermint oil!! My bottle said to add 1/4 teaspoon for every cup of ingredients. I used 4 oz. cream cheese and 4 cups powdered sugar (plus some added later), and used a teaspoon or more of oil! even though this sounds like a lot, they still barely had a peppermint taste! They still taste great though! I used the rope and cute method which worked well! Thanks for the suggestion! I highly recommend this recipe! The different oil/color combinations are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
We love these mints. I did end up having to work the dough with my hands to get it mixed well, and making double recipe was A LOT of mints and powdered sugar. I know now that smaller batches are probably wise. Like another reviewer, I rolled them into ropes and cut them with a dull knife. I recommend that anyone making these have extra powdered sugar on hand, just in case... I had to go out and buy more in the middle of my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Excellent mints. Even my anti-candy boyfriend loved them. It has to be pretty good to temp him. I used food coloring and made a double batch so I could make green, red, and white. The white mints were the easiest to form since they did not have the added moisture of food coloring. If you are using extract or food coloring I would suggest a touch extra powdered sugar to avoid sticky handling. I rolled them in cane sugar before forking them. Also extra peppermint is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are very time consuming, but worth it. I used 4 oz cream cheese and 1/2 t peppermint extract. One batch made 100 mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
So easy to make and delicious! Did add extra peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These are really good! I can't believe I've never made them before. They're very simple to make, even though forming the individual mints IS a little time consuming. I didn't have peppermint oil or paste food colors, so I used peppermint extract (3/4 tsp) and liquid food colors (5 drops in half a batch of candy). Because of this extra liquid, I did have to work some additional powdered sugar in to get a manageable dough. I rolled the dough into pencil-thick ropes and pinched off individual mints with the back of a knife so they would somewhat resemble butter mints. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
4 stars from me only because the recipe is so simple. I just made two batches for Christmas, one pink and one light green. I mixed the "dough" in my little Oskar and I used my cookie press star disk. They look professional! Instant gratification. For the pink batch, I followed the recipe precisely except for my substitution of peppermint extract for oil. That batch was very stiff and hard to press and would be best for hand shaping. The green, second batch I kept a little less stiff (@2-1/2 cu sugar) and it made all the difference in the pressing designs. I dusted them with more confectioners sugar to make it look snowy. I am delighted with this project! I'll definitely make these again. If I can figure out how to post pictures, I'll definitely post one of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States