Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
too sticky to make the mints, great taste though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My family loves butter mints, and this is a much "healthier" alternative to store-bought. I used chopped, fresh mint instead of peppermint oil and stored them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this recipe as other members suggested by using 4 oz. of cream cheese. I also increased the peppermint extract to a heaping 1/2 tsp. I didn't have powdered sugar so I used regular sugar which made my mints very grainy, but that's not the fault of the recipe! My mints were very sticky and hard to work with but the flavor was very good! Similar to a 'York Peppermint Pattie' candy, just without the chocolate coating! I didn't add any food coloring. I will have to try it again using powdered sugar and adding more powdered sugar until it's less sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I thought these were good, but my husband didn't care for them. The cheese taste was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Me and my dad made these mints. We tried the mixture and it wasn't pepperminty at all! We added 2 more drops of peppermint 1 more cup of sugar, 1 more ounce of cream cheese, and 4 drops of food coloring. Over all it wasn't that impressing but they turned out good. Add more peppermint oil as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Made one recipe but used 4 ounces of cream cheese (1/2 of an 8 ounce block) and 1/4 t peppermint extract. They were very good and a hit at my holiday luncheon. I rolled the dough into small balls (probably about 1 t or less) and flattened with a fork like a peanut butter cookie. It made about 30 of that size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jessica Hammond Barbera
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
If you remember the Russell Stovers rose mints these are the closeest I have been able to come to that receipe! Love Them!!! Easy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was an awesome recipe! they taste like the inside part of a peppermint patty! I made multi-colored teddy bear molds and regular white discs with the fork tine "design" on them (tried to post pictures on here but it didn't work). These mints couldn't be any easier and the taste is so melt-in-your-mouth delicious! I double the recipe just so that I didn't have half a cream cheese block sitting around and I'm glad I did because the kids, and my hubby (okay, and me too) devoured them in a heartbeat! these will be given as Christmas gifts this year because they are that tasty and that easy to make! I let mine dry overnight and I turned them 1 time thru the drying process. Also, if the "dough" gets too sticky, just add a bit more powdered sugar. I found that if I scooped some out and placed it on the wax paper, it was easier to mold when I was done scooping & back at the beginning to my 1st ball. After molding the last ball into the round shape, I went back to the beginning again and imprinted with the fork tines and didn't need any excess sugar on the fork because the mints had kind of crusted diminishing the need to use sugar to keep the fork from sticking. I used the sugar to make the teddy bear molds but after tasting the two, I actually like the non sugared mints better (they really tasted much smoother and creamier without the extra sugar). I will continue to make them both ways-the kids really enjoy the molded mints! Thank you so much Diane for sharing this!10stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila.m

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Mmmmm! I love peppermint! I was a bit concerned at first, as the dough was quite crumbly. First I tried to mix it with a spatula...then I abandoned that for my handheld mixer. In the end, I just got in there with my hands. I popped it in the fridge for about 10 minutes, in the hopes that it would roll a tad easier, and it did seem to help. I found it to be quite fun rolling them out, and I didn't bother trying to make them too uniform...I think it is a hallmark of homemade candy to have a few misfits in the bunch :) This was very simple, and quite good. Thank you, Diane, for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Made three double batches for a friends' wedding. Easy and fabulous. The outsides 'crisped' up while the center stayed fabulous cream-cheese smooth! If you double the recipe, you will need to add up to an additional cup of powdered sugar to get the mixture smooth enough to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States