Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Made about 500 of these for a wedding reception. Talk about yum-yum-yummy! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! My tips: Use 4 oz. cream cheese instead of 3, use 1/2 tsp. peppermint oil, and use 5 drops food coloring (that made about 100 mints). I mixed all ingredients (except powdered sugar) with mixer, then added the powdered sugar and mixed by hand. I tore off little nibblets of the dough, tossed in granulated sugar, and pressed into candy molds. To allow mints to set up, I dried them on a cookie sheet, lined with waxed-paper (also, it helps to sprinkle granulated sugared all over the waxed-paper to keep mints from sticking) for about 2 hours, then transferred to freezer in sealed containers. Thawed in fridge the day before serving. Turned out better than any mints I've ever had! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I made these for Christmas but am just getting around to writing the review, because I'm going to make them again for Easter. They were extremely simple to make (my 3 yr old twins helped). I agree that you have to adjust the peppermint extract (it *has* to be extract, not imitation flavoring) to taste; I added more because I like a stronger mint flavor. We tinted them green and red, rolled the balls in sugar and pressed them with a cork into penny-sized mints -- good size, as any larger could be overly sweet. They dried just fine on waxed paper (maybe because of the small size) and they were a great and welcomed addition to every cookie tray I made. For Easter, we're making them the same size but tinting them pastel colors. These freeze extremely well and the texture remains the same -- creamy and smooth. Great recipe I'll keep on hand for something I need quickly for a fancy occasion or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Just like the treats the ladies at church would bring for Christmas! Mine kept nicely for over a week in the refrigerator in a sealed container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
These were good, but they were so rich and thick that everyone who had them could only eat one (except my brother, The Iron Stomach). Chocolate coating goes well with it, but I'm not very good at doing that, so mine looked funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Pretty good and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
My 12 year old daughter helped me make these. We did not add any food color and substituted 1/4 tsp. peppermint extract for the oil. Turned out just great! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
What happened? Mine never hardened, and I agree with the others that the flavor needs help. I will try again, however, but omiting the butter, as I think that kept the mints from being the texture I desired. I colored them blue, and my 2 year old son thought they were blobs of toothpaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
We did not care for these at all. Way too sweet and not enough peppermint flavor even though I used way more than the recipe called for. They were also very time consuming to make and difficult to mix to taste no better than they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
These are the best peppermint patties you'll ever have. Their smooth, not grainy, like the boughten ones I've had. It doesn't matter what fancy store you buy yours from, these will beat any other, hands down. Their easy to make, fast and fun. I dipped them in melted chocolate and froze. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This recipe is very easy and my kids loved to roll out the mints.I dipped half of them in chocolate for my husband and kept half plain.Both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States