Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Incredible! Just like mom used to make. Using my Kitchenaid stand mixer with the paddle attachment made this a piece of cake. The dough comes out a bit crumbly, but if you knead it a couple of times, it shapes up nicely. I'll definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I was only making these for 2 people, so I split the recipe to 1/3 of the original. I had to add about 1/2 cup extra powdered sugar to get it to a thick enough consistency to work with. They turned out great though. My mom loved them and I will defintely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Awesome. Just as I've tasted from high end bakeries but for nothing! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Quick, easy recipe that impresses people! I just made these for a baby shower--did two double batches: one pink and peppermint, one blue and coconut. With the pink batch I added 1 1/2 to 2 cups less sugar and loaded to goopy pink stuff into my "Easy Accent Decorator" gun and put the star tip on, rolled out some wax paper and "shot" out several pretty mints. With the blue mints I followed the recipe except I did coconut extract...which I think is better than the peppermint. Next batch I'm going to do yellow with some butter rum. This recipe was so easy, my 8 and 9 year old made the blue batch so they could have a stash of mints for their little tea parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuperbre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very tasty! I made a half batch just to test this recipe and they came very good. I didn't bother to measure the confectioners sugar and just kept adding more to get the dryer consistancy that allowed me to work with it. I took about a 2" piece of it and dusted wax paper with the sugar and rolled it like a snake and cut them into 1/2 pieces. They dried quickly and I let my neighbor taste them and she really liked them so now I'm going to make a full batch to take with me to her party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Yummmm! My grandmother used to make these for me and they taste just like I remembered. Were a real hit at a baby shower I gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
it tastes good but as other users have said, it is way too messy and sticky to work with no matter what i did, i dont think i will make this candy again unless i can figure out a way to make them look a little better i made a few batches, all were colored mint green; one batch was dipped in chocolate, one batch was drizzled in chocolate, one batch was plain with colored sugar the candies wouldnt dry enough to handle, i even put it in the fridge for 30 minutes to no avail and i did use a dropper as i gave up rolling them in my hands very quickly as it was just too gooey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake-ette
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These were really great, but I did have some difficulty with the "dough". I'm at a loss how some people were able to roll these into balls or press them into molds. My dough was fairly thin (not runny, but not stiff...even after sitting out to "dry"). Although, all of that could have a lot to do with the fact that I used peppermint extract rather than peppermint oil and, therefore, had to add more liquid to the batter than the recipe calls for. That being said, I piped the batter onto parchment paper and tossed them in the freezer in a sealed container. Then once they were frozen, I melted some good dark chocolate and topped them off. Then back to the freezer. The recipe made a ton and I've still got quite a few in my freezer for a cool, minty snack. I took some to work and those that had the chance to try them, loved them. I will be making them again and maybe next time I'll remember to add more of the dry ingredients based on however much additional extract I add. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake-ette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
These were really good!! Very Very rich, but oh so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
These were delicious. I made a double batch and colored the "dough" green, red, and left some white. I served them at Christmas parties last year. I did add extra peppermint extract to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Roe Nieto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States