Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Stick with the recipe. Do not use 8 oz of cream cheese. If you do, you need to double the amount of confectioner's sugar. Works well to roll into balls and roll in sugar then roll into candy molds. Made cute baby shower mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
So easy and they're so tasty! I'm making gift packs of them, so far I have mint and lemon, the last one I'll be making is going to be orange-ginger. Going to finely chop some crystalized ginger into it with some orange extract, or possibly zest. I'm always making short cuts, so this goes in my food processor and mixed, adding enough sugar until it clumps into a ball, then I roll into snakes like it's play-doh and just cut into little individual mints. Not gorgeous that way, but with the assorted colors they're pretty enough and they taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These are so great for holiday snacks! They are rich, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
These were made for my birthday, and they are very good. They really have a cream cheese taste. (More than a minty taste.) And they are best chilled. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieB3267
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made these mints for both my wedding and my friends. I get a little creative with the flavoring and use candy oils other than peppermint, such as cream de menthe, cheesecake, pralines n cream, and butter rum. They are all so good. I personally wasn't a big fan of the cheesecake- I thought they tasted too sweet but the lady that sold me the oil at the candy store says it is the most popular flavor for these mints! I also use candy molds- my wedding was at Christmas time and so I did molds of doves, gifts, bells, and christmas trees (so cute- I used green coloring and the white sugar looked like snow!) It is important to roll them in granulated sugar before putting them in the molds and then pop them out onto a wax paper-lined tray or they will stick. I also let them dry out overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB3267

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
These are the mints I remember. I used molds to shape the mints. Terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
These are excellent! I had people ask to take these home from my party! I read several reviews before making, and the reviews are very mixed. I think it needs to be noted that the amount of powder sugar depends on 2 factors. One: whether or not you soften the cream cheese in the microwave, or set out on the counter to be softened...Two: If you are molding the mints you may need extra powdered sugar so it is not to sticky to roll into balls. Personally I did add more powdered sugar. IF YOU ARE using a mold you need to roll in granulated sugar before placing in the molds, so they don't stick!! Excellent Mint! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Just like the ones Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I could not get these out of the candy molds that I put them in. They were very good though ,just rolled and cut and dried. Just a note, this recipe needs about a half teaspoon salt really brings out the flavors. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made these mints for my daughter's birthday party tomorrow. The first batch I made turned out horrible...it was too stiff to work with...I followed the recipe to the "T". I made again, split into two bowls and the mixture turned out perfect. I upped the peppermint oil to 4 drops. We like our mints strong! I sprinkled sugar on my pastry mat, rolled the mints into balls, then smashed them down using a spoon. The mints look great, but they would be even better using candy molds. These were fun to make with my 6 year old daughter...even more fun to eat! Thanks for sharing.----These are wonderful after they've been in the fridge for a while. If you want a really soft mint, refrigerate, then allow the mint to reach room temperature before serving. These are great however you wish to serve them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States