Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are very time consuming, but worth it. I used 4 oz cream cheese and 1/2 t peppermint extract. One batch made 100 mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
So easy to make and delicious! Did add extra peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These are really good! I can't believe I've never made them before. They're very simple to make, even though forming the individual mints IS a little time consuming. I didn't have peppermint oil or paste food colors, so I used peppermint extract (3/4 tsp) and liquid food colors (5 drops in half a batch of candy). Because of this extra liquid, I did have to work some additional powdered sugar in to get a manageable dough. I rolled the dough into pencil-thick ropes and pinched off individual mints with the back of a knife so they would somewhat resemble butter mints. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
4 stars from me only because the recipe is so simple. I just made two batches for Christmas, one pink and one light green. I mixed the "dough" in my little Oskar and I used my cookie press star disk. They look professional! Instant gratification. For the pink batch, I followed the recipe precisely except for my substitution of peppermint extract for oil. That batch was very stiff and hard to press and would be best for hand shaping. The green, second batch I kept a little less stiff (@2-1/2 cu sugar) and it made all the difference in the pressing designs. I dusted them with more confectioners sugar to make it look snowy. I am delighted with this project! I'll definitely make these again. If I can figure out how to post pictures, I'll definitely post one of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Stick with the recipe. Do not use 8 oz of cream cheese. If you do, you need to double the amount of confectioner's sugar. Works well to roll into balls and roll in sugar then roll into candy molds. Made cute baby shower mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
So easy and they're so tasty! I'm making gift packs of them, so far I have mint and lemon, the last one I'll be making is going to be orange-ginger. Going to finely chop some crystalized ginger into it with some orange extract, or possibly zest. I'm always making short cuts, so this goes in my food processor and mixed, adding enough sugar until it clumps into a ball, then I roll into snakes like it's play-doh and just cut into little individual mints. Not gorgeous that way, but with the assorted colors they're pretty enough and they taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These are so great for holiday snacks! They are rich, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
These were made for my birthday, and they are very good. They really have a cream cheese taste. (More than a minty taste.) And they are best chilled. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieB3267
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made these mints for both my wedding and my friends. I get a little creative with the flavoring and use candy oils other than peppermint, such as cream de menthe, cheesecake, pralines n cream, and butter rum. They are all so good. I personally wasn't a big fan of the cheesecake- I thought they tasted too sweet but the lady that sold me the oil at the candy store says it is the most popular flavor for these mints! I also use candy molds- my wedding was at Christmas time and so I did molds of doves, gifts, bells, and christmas trees (so cute- I used green coloring and the white sugar looked like snow!) It is important to roll them in granulated sugar before putting them in the molds and then pop them out onto a wax paper-lined tray or they will stick. I also let them dry out overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB3267

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
These are the mints I remember. I used molds to shape the mints. Terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States