Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I just made this recipe and the cookies turned out great. The kolaches I remember as a kid were the round ones that were more like sweet rolls, but a friend wanted this kind. I tripled the recipe so the ratio was one 8-ounce cream cheese, 3 sticks of butter (1 1/2 cups) and 3 cups of flour. I mixed the butter and cream cheese in my Kitchenaid mixer really well, added a tsp. of vanilla, and then added the flour and mixed on slow just until combined. I divided the dough up into four small disks and refrigerated for a couple of hours. It was easy to roll out the small amount quickly before it got too sticky. I rolled them out on a sheet of parchment paper dusted with powdered sugar and a little bit of regular sugar. Once they were cut I added the filling, then lifted each square off the paper using a long carving knife under two diagonal corners of the square so I could pinch the other corners together. I used Solo apricot and poppy seed and made my own cream cheese filling. All of them turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is the tastiest recipe ever! First time making them and they are so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfliesgrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe. Friends very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Didn't work at all :-( the pinched sides didn't stay together and the jelly I used ran all over the place. Flavor was nice - maybe I'll have to tweak it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The cookies taste great, but as others have experienced, the cookies kept opening up. Eventually, I just gave up, and used the make thumbprint style cookies instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
A super simple, tried and true, crowd-pleasing recipe! This is my go-to, and I've got it down to a science: Make your life simple, like I have... Make the dough ahead of when you wish to bake. I mix up 8x the recipe at one sitting. Cut the butter and cream cheese together with the flour, then mix as little as possible with your hands; due to arthritis, I usually end up just 'knuckling' the dough in the bowl, to bring it all together. Next, form dough into fist-sized rough balls and roll each one between two sheets of wax-paper. Needless to say, Don't chill first! Roll them to the thickness you wish your cookies to be, so you don't have to roll later. Stack the rolled-out balls together on a pan (I use a pizza pan), wrap in plastic wrap and stash in fridge. When ready to make into cookies, remove dough from fridge one 'disk' at a time as you use them. Peel wax paper off one side to loosen, then replace, flip and peel off the other side. I use a pizza-slicer to cut the dough into squares and save the weird end pieces to re-roll when all 'disks' are used up. Put filling into plastic baggie and clip one corner off. Pipe filling in a diagonal onto dough squares, bring up opposite ends and pinch. Transfer to baking sheet and bake as directed. By piping the filling, my fingers stay clean and I am able to control how much filling I wish to use. It's not unusual for me to do a 'line' of cream-cheese filling alongside a fruit filling on the same cookie! Hubby love it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
very good flaky cookie. I made it using Solo almond filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Amazing dough. Loved how flavorful and rich it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is one of the best cookies you will ever taste. They have just the right amount of sweetness and melt in your mouth. I use a pastry filling solo brand because the filling doesn't run like with preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States