Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Aznsouris
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Wonderful cookies, but here are some pointers: 1) You have to roll the dough out to 1/8" thickness or else the cookie puffs up too much and the seal on the ends will break apart. 2) The jam/preserves will run, so don't put too much on the dough. Gotta love this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aznsouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe. Extremely easy to make as it only requires a few ingredients. I recommend at least doubling the batch, as I did. I used blueberry pie filling and they were absolutely delicious! This recipe is a definite keeper and I will be making even more before Christmas as I imagine the ones I made today will not last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NFISCHER08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My late mother made this heavenly cookie for years. When I looked through mother's cookbook after her passing 15 years ago, I was saddened that I was unable to find the recipe. This was one of those things mother made from memory, I believe, so I was certain, the recipe was lost to me. Yesterday, I found your recipe for kolachys, and made a batch. You can not imagine my delight when I realized this was the exact cookie mother made! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, and bringing back so many happy Christmas memories! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEXYTRACKR
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Thank you for sharing this recipe....They are great...the best Kolacky I have ever tasted...easy to make and taste great...I used Apricot and Raspberry Filling by Solo for this and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Excellent. My mother-in-law made these each year. Rather a bit of work the original way. Love the short-cut tips, though they do not turn out quite so pretty. Anyhow, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These are some seriously good cookies. I made a double batch and the family had eaten them all by the next day. I used apricot jam which was really yummy. Next time I'm going to try black raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I made these a little bit differently because I was making quick cookies w/my four year just for something to do on a rainy day. I didn't chill or roll them out, I used a cookie scoop and rolled the balls in vanilla sugar, poked a dimple in them and put the jam in there. Very easy and fast. When I make them again I will use a smaller scoop (the one I used was too big), flatten a little and fold over to make them a little prettier. It will still be fast. The flavor is excellent, and my 4 year old said "These are fantastic". Thanks for the tip about the solo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
beautiful cookie..I made them oval and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Great taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I really wanted to like this recipe. I followed the directions to the letter, except I used strawberry preserves and only chilled the dough for 5 hours yet found it to be just OK. The dough did retain its "cream" color and I would've preferred them to turn out a little more brown. Without the preserves and confectioner's sugar it isn't particularly sweet and I didn't think it was anything particularly special...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I chose this recipe because of all the positive reviews. Unfortunately these cookies didn’t turn out at all. The cookie never set. The dough was extremely sticky once I rolled it out. Perhaps I didn’t roll it out thin enough but even 5 additional minutes in the oven didn’t help the texture. On a positive note, Solo pie filling was excellent. It doesn’t run at all. It was the only good part of cookie. I’ll keep searching another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States