Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I've been making this for years. I have to make at least 4 -6 batches. It is best to do the dough and leave it in the fridge overnight. I found square cookie cutters on-line for those who measure them you can save time by buying square cookie cutters. I got them from the Chef's catalog probably 10 years ago. They are called Ateco Cutters #5253 6 piece set 1 3/8 to 2 5/8 inches. So maybe people can still get them. Chef's catalog no longer has them. But I am sure you might be able to find them on-line somewhere. I always use the Solo filling. I am going to try making the thumb print ones to see how they come out and roll out in powdered sugar like others have suggested. I am making them this weekend and will report back with doing it the thumbprint way and the regular way and using the powdered sugar. Those who didn't do good the first time try and make them again. They are so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Didn't like this recipe. Kids wouldn't eat it, either. Flavor was dull at best. The "flaky crust" was a disaster. Yep, it's a short, simple recipe...that falls very short of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent. A classic. I like to use Solo pastry filling, but some preserves work just as good. A request every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blpulido

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I just made this recipe and the cookies turned out great. The kolaches I remember as a kid were the round ones that were more like sweet rolls, but a friend wanted this kind. I tripled the recipe so the ratio was one 8-ounce cream cheese, 3 sticks of butter (1 1/2 cups) and 3 cups of flour. I mixed the butter and cream cheese in my Kitchenaid mixer really well, added a tsp. of vanilla, and then added the flour and mixed on slow just until combined. I divided the dough up into four small disks and refrigerated for a couple of hours. It was easy to roll out the small amount quickly before it got too sticky. I rolled them out on a sheet of parchment paper dusted with powdered sugar and a little bit of regular sugar. Once they were cut I added the filling, then lifted each square off the paper using a long carving knife under two diagonal corners of the square so I could pinch the other corners together. I used Solo apricot and poppy seed and made my own cream cheese filling. All of them turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is the tastiest recipe ever! First time making them and they are so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfliesgrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe. Friends very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Didn't work at all :-( the pinched sides didn't stay together and the jelly I used ran all over the place. Flavor was nice - maybe I'll have to tweak it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The cookies taste great, but as others have experienced, the cookies kept opening up. Eventually, I just gave up, and used the make thumbprint style cookies instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States