Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I made this recipe for Christmas because I wanted to use one that was easier than the one I always use. With only 3 ingredients for dough, I loved it! Very fast, easy, and the taste was just as good as my other recipe that called for 7 ingredients and much more work. Delicious!! Flour board heavily when rolling out . Make sure you pinch center really good. I baked about 18-20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I have been searching for this recipes for many, many yrs. They are fantastic and simple to make. I was given this recipe about 30 yrs ago and it was called something else that I don't remember. I tucked it away in a cookbook and made them for friends and family. Well, I accidently gave the cookbook away. I am so delighted that someone else loves Kolacky as much as I do!! and I'm Sicilian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Thank you for posting this recipe! I had one that I used for years, and now cannot find. The dough IS what makes these cookies~it's exceptionally light and melts in your mouth. The only alteration I made to the recipe (as my original recipe called for) was to roll out the dough in powdered sugar instead of flour, and not dust them after they've cooled. This just gives the dough a touch of sweetness, but you do need to use the sugar liberally to keep the dough from sticking. I bake the cookies on a baking stone. If you do this and don't have a second stone to alternate batches, you'll need to let the stone cool down, otherwise the dough will start to melt as you're placing them onto the stone due to it's high fat content. Using a cool or cold stone, I bake them for 18 minutes. Everyone always raves about these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
These are my favorites, I have always loved them and this is the best recipe. I know the dough is a bit hard to work with but they are worth it and putting them in the fridge for a few in between rollings helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I am so happy I found this recipe! My mom used to make these when I was little and I loved them, but could never remember what they were called. They taste just as wonderful as I remember. I filled them with homeade apple butter and rolled in powdered sugar like another user suggested. My only complaint is that I only got one cookie sheet worth of kolacky! I will automatically double the recipe next time because they are going fast. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I tried this recipe and I put Solo Almond filling instead of preserves. It knocked my husbands socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna Alicia
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
These are very light and flaky, unlike most kolacky recipes. Very simple and easy to make. I used Solo pie filling instead of jam because it holds better in the cookie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I'm so happy to have found this wondeful recipe! Just like my Grandma's-even better-because the dough is so easy to work with. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Flacky and delicious, my 11.5 month old baby even enjoyed these. Some i used apricot and some raspberry. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States